Me and my obsessions

Over the years I have noticed a pattern: I tend to go through phases where I am really interested in something, to the point of obsession.  Usually this period lasts about 4 – 6 months and eventually tapers off.  Yet, despite the fact that my interest in the area calms down, I always retain something from that period; I always learn something new.

Here are some of those periods:

veggies

Vegetable gardening:

About three years ago, when I still lived with my parents, I dug up our backyard and made an attempt at vegetable gardening.  I read every book I could find on composting, organic fertilizer and various techniques.  By the end of the season, I ended up with a few tomatoes, one eggplant, a good amount of jalapenos and plenty of herbs.  I haven’t tried a full on vegetable garden since then, but I still compost and grow my own herbs (and sometimes jalapenos).

running

Health and Exercise:

While I didn’t get into this phase to lose weight, I did lose about 20 pounds during this (I’ve gained most of it back, but I’m still in good shape).  During this time period, I meticulously counted calories and entered them on a spreadsheet every day.  I read Health magazine and every book I could find on healthy eatting and exercise.  I ran for 20 minutes three days a week and did strength training twice a week.  All this led up to running a 5K (as seen in the photo).  After a bad break up, I fell out of the exercise habit for awhile, but now I go to the gym three days a week.  I don’t count calories anymore, but I do watch what I eat.

photo

Photography

At one point, I thought this would be my career.  I spent a lot of my savings on expensive lenses, and for a little while I was doing some concert photography work.  I’ve sold off all but my main lens and also started using a smaller point and shoot camera for less serious photography.  But I take much better photos and I’ve learned a lot about technique and editing.

yarn

Knitting

Well, I still knit quite a lot, but I don’t spend the entire day thinking about knitting, looking at images of knitting, dreaming of my next yarn purchase, drooling at yarn stores etc (well, actually, cashmere yarn still makes me drool).    I enjoy knitting as a hobby now, but not an obsession.

and my current obsession…

Style and fashion

Figuring out my sense of style, deciding what clothing items and accessories I should purchase next, imagining potential outfits in my head.  Style has consumed me these past few months.  I’m sure that eventually, this too may quite down a bit, and I expect it to.  Just like in a relationship, when you first start seeing someone, everything is exciting and passionate and new.  Eventually, it calms down into a quiet love.  And that’s what I think will happen with this, like my other obsessions.  And this isn’t a bad thing.  I will always have a love for style and fashion.  Obsessions pass, but they always leave something important behind.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me. Bookmark the permalink.