Last and First…

knits of 08 and o9 that is!

Just before the end of 2008, I finished up this lovely red beret and made a scarf to match.  (Beret is knitted, scarf is crocheted).

porom

porom2

The pattern for the beret is Porom by Jared Flood.  The scarf I just improvised.  It’s weird because I usually don’t like to crochet, but for some reason I just felt like it that night.  The yarn is Knit Picks Shine Sport, which is a cotton blend.  I think that the pattern would probably look better in wool, so right now I’m making a second one with some pink tweedy wool I got from a friend.

My first knit of 09 (and last knit from Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitter’s Almanac, although the version of the pattern I used came from Knitting Around ) was this pair of Mocassin socks.

mocassin

mocassin2

I dyed the blue yarn myself with Jacquard Acid Dye, and the photos really don’t do it justice.  The yarn is Knit Picks Swish Worsted.  They’re pretty thick socks and the soles, while original, are not very comfortable with shoes.  Thus, these will be a cozy pair of house socks for me.

These socks conclude my Knitter’s Alamanc Journey that I started last January.  They’re also the beginning of my knitting goals for 2009.  I’m aiming for knitting at least one pair of socks per month and three sweaters by the end of the year.  I’ll probably knit other items as well, but socks and sweaters are two areas where my handknits are painfully low.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Craftiness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last and First…

  1. Pingback: “Being wooly feels nice” « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.