Daily Outfit: Bringing casual to the workplace

casual1

My place of work doesn’t really have a formal dress code, but I prefer to look nice whenever I’m there anyhow.  I feel better about myself (and get more work done) when I get dressed up for work.  Still, I like to keep things balanced and mix dressier pieces with more casual ones.  That’s what drove my outfit today.  I thrifted this halter-jersey dress last summer to use as a beach cover up.  Once the summer was over, it got packed away along with my bathing suits.  I recently dug out all my summer duds, and realized that I could easily make this dress work outside the beach.

casual4

Since the color is so pale, I layered a black three quarter sleeve over it (with some lace details).  I then threw on a red waist cinching belt and some red chandelier earrings to add some color and keep it polished.  The leather lime purse adds a nice contrast to the red elements, and echoes the olive green in the dress.  Finally, I put on a nice pair of black mock-croc sandals to keep it casual, yet dressy.  I think this dress will be much more in rotation from now on.

casual3

Dress: Target (thrifted)
3/4 Sleeve: Apt 9 (Kohls)
Belt: Vintage
Purse: Easy Spirit
Earrings: JC Penny
Shoes: Clarks Rime

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Outfit: Bringing casual to the workplace

  1. chrispy says:

    I love this outfit. It makes your waist look tiny.

    Like

  2. academichic says:

    Great layering and I love the pops of color with the belt and purse! You look very cute! S.

    Like

  3. I love the pattern on that skirt, it’s lovely!! And looks great with the outfit!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Daily Outfit: Revise and Renew « Simple Elegance

  5. Pingback: Daily Outfit: White Cardi with a Dress « Simple Elegance

Comments are closed.