Introducing Waldo

When it comes to gifts for babies and children, they are two things I always give: handmade toys and books. Clothes are grown out of too quickly.  Electronic toys break. 

Handmade toys, on the other, provide a tactical experience that children don’t always receive with modern toys.  When well-made, they can become heirlooms to be passed on.  Books provide children with a learning experience and are also often held onto and treasured.  I still have and love my childhood copies of books like the Velveteen Rabbit and The Poky Little Puppy.

So, for a baby shower I went to last weekend, I made sure to include some handmade love.

Meet Waldo:

3407351940_4d9f46fff3

I like to call him Waldo because of the red and white striped sweater he’s wearing.  The pattern I used is Kate from Knitty.  I decided to make it without the limbs, because it looked more like an infant toy that way.  The yarn is Knit Picks Shine Worsted, a lovely cotton/modal blend that is perfect for toys.  I also included a SkippyJon Jones board book to complete the gift.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introducing Waldo

  1. academichic says:

    I love this! What a great gift for a baby! I might have to commission you to make me one ( a long ways from now when I am preggers), because this is just so cute! And hand-made gifts are always so much more meaningful. S.

    Like

  2. zandor says:

    That is such a great gift idea.

    Like

  3. Pingback: “Being wooly feels nice” « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.