Daily Outfit: Day at the beach

Well, I’m slightly behind on posts now, since my vacation is officially over and I’m back to work and school today.  At the end of my vacation time last week, I got to spend a day at Fort de Soto beach with family and friends.  I usually don’t like to go in the water when I’m at the beach, so I decided to wear a cute and lightweight cotton sundress with a hat to beat the heat.

3435850296_cf2bb38b2e

The dress was a birthday present from my boyfriend.  It’s yet another one of my duds from Busch Gardens (the hat too).  The theme park is a surprising place to find decently priced casual wear.  My only rule is that I’m not allowed to wear the items in the park, as that would be far too tacky.  The dress is a bit revealing, even for the beach, so I wore a black camisole underneath.  It would probably work nicely with a swimsuit top too, but I didn’t have one that matched the cut well.

3435850300_95b61a112e

I chose to take wear the tote with the outfit for three reasons:  I think outfits tend to look best when they have at least two different non-neutral colors, in this case red and blue.  This certainly isn’t a hard and fast rule, but it often works.  Also, since the rest of this outfit is predominantly warm colors, I wanted to pair something cooler with it.  Finally, this tote can hold all the stuff I wanted to bring to the beach in it.

3435850476_e98f009246

This is the last of my vacation posts, so tomorrow it’s back to work-appropriate outfits.  Get ready to see some sewing and knitting too.  I’ve finally cracked the code on a skirt pattern I’ve been revising, so you will certainly be seeing it soon.

Dress: Busch Gardens
Camisole: Old Navy
Hat: Busch Gardens
Bandana (tied on hat): Thrifted
Shoes: Clarks Rime
Purse: Thifted and re-coned
Necklace: Kira Ferrer
Bracelets: Jill Popowich
Earrings: June Designs

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me, Outfits. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Outfit: Day at the beach

  1. Sal says:

    Ach! Love it all. The dress, the hat, and your gorgeous smile.

    Like

  2. academichic says:

    oh, you’re just too cute! I absolutely love this dress and with the hat – such a great beach outfit!

    Looks like you had a wonderful vacation! S.

    Like

  3. Modest Mom says:

    Like the dress! I’m jealous that you’ve had beach weather. 🙂

    Like

  4. bluerose says:

    This is a lovely dress. You look very good in black with bright colors.

    Like

  5. Lmac says:

    Seriously the first thing I noticed was your smile in your pics! It’s awesome. Your dress is rockin btw!

    Like

  6. Pingback: What I wish I had this summer « Simple Elegance

Comments are closed.