Daily Outfit: Finally Getting It

I got the fabulous book Sew U  for Christmas, and ever since then I have been trying to get the patterns exactly the way I want them.  I’ve mainly been focusing on the skirt.  The largest pattern size was too tight for me, so I kept adjusting the pattern according to my measurements.  I had to keep adjusting it to make it work for my hips, and there were some failed attempts.  After aggressive and honest measuring, adjustments to the darts so they ended at my widest point and adding extra room to accompany my hips, I’ve finally got a skirt that fits.  And it’s even lined.  I’m ecstatic! 

3440704491_8947fe436c

The blue fabric is some synthetic material left over from my prom dress I made years ago, so I was glad to finally make something with it.  The lining is some lovely eyelet cotton.  Normally, lining is supposed to be shorter than the main layer, but I decided to let mine peak out a bit.  I might re-hem it about 1/2 shorter though.   Now that I’ve finally got the pattern figured out, I’ve got plans for several more skirts, including an above-the-knee denim skirt and a hounds-tooth corduroy number.  Once there’s a little more cash flow, some lovely summery cotton skirts will be in the works as well.

3440704489_b52ff8b0da

Tee: Target
Skirt: Sewn by me!
Shoes: Naturalizer
Purse: Morelle Oyster
Pearls: Coryell Design
Bangles: Jill Popowich

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Outfit: Finally Getting It

  1. Clare says:

    So cute! I actually wouldn’t hem the lining. I think it looks really cute like this, peeking out from underneath.

    Like

  2. Modest Mom says:

    Lovely skirt! You did a great job. I don’t have Sew U, but I did buy a cute book about drafting your own skirt patterns.

    Hopefully this weekend I’ll be setting up my sewing area. I’m so excited!

    Can’t wait to see your next skirt!

    Like

  3. Sal says:

    It’s fantastic, lady! Letting the lining peek out was definitely the right choice.

    Like

  4. ambika says:

    The skirt is beautiful. I really should pick up the book–maybe I’d be more inclined to make more clothes!

    Like

Comments are closed.