Daily Outfit: Comfort chic

Effortless chic seems to be one of the new buzzwords in the style blogging community.  It describes an easy, comfortable style that is both chic and casual.  I’d like to think that “comfort chic” is along those same lines.  Comfort chic, to me, can describe your go-to outfits on days when you want to be comfortable, but still look great.  Kind of like the warm feelings we get about comfort food.  Variations of this outfit, along with belted cardigans and jersey dresses, are go-to’s for me.

3468384663_11f3f249b3

I’ve mentioned before that balance is key in fashion.  I never like to wear an outfit that fits entirely into one genre; I like to mix feminine with tough, dressy with casual, hard lines with soft.  In this case, the pearls and the scarf create a dressier vibe, which is toned down by the loose cardigan, mary jane flats and capris.  I’ve also got a mix of softness and crispness, contrasting the comfy cardigan and drape-y lines on the blouse with the crisp, fitted capris.

3468384671_59a3cfa50c

I read about the “scarf tied around a purse” trend in a a fashion magazine (Elle or Lucky, can’t remember which) back in October, and it was a look that I really wanted to try, but just never got around to.  In honor of Academichic’s  current focus on making styles work for you, I decided to go for it.  I love the European flair it gives the outfit.  

The next photo was inspired by the lovely style blogger, Keiko Lynn, who sometimes jumps in her photos.  I think it makes things more fun, so why not?

3468384673_fe9f2e7b08

Blouse: Target (via Classy Consignments)
Cardigan: Ann Taylor Loft
Capris: Erik Stewart
Shoes: Born Codders
Purse: Morelle City Bag
Scarf: Thrifted
Pearls: Coryell Design
Bangles: Jill Popowich

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Outfit: Comfort chic

  1. Sal says:

    CUTIE! Husband Mike took a photo of me jumping the other day and I looked completely bizarre. You’ve got the touch. 😉

    Like

  2. academichic says:

    I think you def. nailed the casual chic look, and I especially love the scarf accent on the purse! S.

    Like

  3. puglyfeet says:

    Lovely scarf and shoes!

    Like

  4. Sher says:

    I really like your blouse 🙂

    fashionafterforty.blogspot.com

    Like

  5. Anusha says:

    Very cool! I love this scarf tied on handbag look. I’ve got to start doing this again … I used to tie scarves to handbags when I was in college. I love how it turned out with your bag! I just really like your whole outfit … very French, somehow. Not that I’ve ever even been in France lol! But it looks like those photos showing how women dress in Paris.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Year in Review: April, May, June « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.