Daily Outfit: Mixing It Up

This outfit was inspired by Academichic’s module on pattern mixing.  To keep the multiple patterns from looking too busy, I chose a simple color palette of white, black and blue.  The patterns in the outfit include black lace in the camisole, blue paisley in the scarf, blue brocade and white eyelet in the skirt, black and white polka dot on the bracelet and black mock-croc print on the sandals.  All of the colors came together in the scarf, which made for a lovely finishing touch.  This has also reminded me that I really need to try new things with my hair.  It’s so easy to just wash and air dry it every day, that I rarely try anything to style it.

 

3481306590_d4132e7ca9

This outfit also contains two of my new favorite wardrobe staples: my LOFT bolero and Clarks Rime sandals.  When I first purchased this bolero, I was somewhat skeptical of how often I would wear it.  But since I’ve discovered that it works as a draped cardigan (as in this outfit), as a belted cardigan and as a tie-front bolero (here also), I’ve realized that it’s actually far more versatile than a traditional cardigan.  

3481306592_c512194816

When I first bought my Clarks Rime sandals from 6pm, I was worried that the straps would hurt my feet.  But I’ve come to love them as my go-to sandals.  They are very comfortable and supportive, and the mock-croc and buckle makes them quite stylish.  And I have yet to get any blisters from them (although I haven’t taken a long walk in them yet – that will be the next test)

3481306596_f7d9967e0b

Camisole: Old Navy
Bolero: Ann Taylor Loft
Skirt: Sewn by me!
Sandals: Clarks Rime
Scarf: Thrifted
Necklace: Target
Bangle: Thrifted
Earrings: Claire’s

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily Outfit: Mixing It Up

  1. academichic says:

    This looks great! I love the color palette here and that scarf is so great! Looking forward to your submission to our CFP then! 🙂
    S.

    Like

  2. Tina says:

    I’m glad you tried something new with your hair b/c it really works on you! And I love the scarf. Did you have problems with it slipping off the back of your head. I can’t keep them on and I’m starting to think it’s just the shape of my head! 🙂

    And now I’m going in search of some Clarks sandals. They’re super cute and sound nice and comfy.

    Like

  3. Clare says:

    I love how many different patterns you’ve incorporated into this outfit! I’m totally taking cues from you. Very cute!

    Like

  4. Sal says:

    Fantastic! The scarf ties it all together so perfectly.

    Like

  5. Modest Mom says:

    Very pretty! I love that you are wearing the skirt you made. Isn’t that a great feeling?

    Like

  6. kirafashion says:

    You look lovely as usual!

    Kisses and hugs friend!

    Like

  7. Anusha says:

    Sew pretty (sorry, couldn’t resist)! I like the breezy, lightweight effect of the skirt and top together with the sweater … but the scarf worn as a hairband is the perfect touch.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Pattern Mixing Symposium: Fashion 101 Modules Put Into Practice By You : academichic

Comments are closed.