Daily Outfit: Return of the Malibrans

Would you believe that since I bought my treasured Fluevog Malibrans, I have only worn them a few times?  Part of the reason why I kept not wearing them is because I wanted to have at least one other accent of yellow in my outfit, but all I  had was a yellow pashmina scarf that is far too warm for spring.  The other issue is that since it’s too warm for tights, wearing them entails having goldenrod directly next to my skin, and for some reason I was convinced that this would make me look jaundiced.  But, after seeing several other bloggers wearing yellow shoes, I realized that I was all worked up about nothing.  And when I popped into Sherry’s Yesterdaze and found a perfectly matching bakelite bangle, I knew that I had to wear my Malibrans again.  So here they are, in all their glory.

3488111231_c303c845f5

Because of the warm tones in the shoes, bracelet and cream tee, I decided to make my other accent color blue.  I always try to balance warm and cool tones in my outfits.

And now that I’m starting to get the hang of doing new things with my hair, I love it!  I see some hair accessory shopping coming soon 🙂

3488111241_e39e1f2d24

My only complaint is that the multiple layers in this outfit, combined with sticky Florida heat, had me sweating a bit.  But then again, that probably also had to do with walking the dog I’m dog-sitting, losing my ID, having to retrace my walk to find it, and then walking half-way across campus later that day to deal with financial aid issues. I long for a cooler, less sticky climate.

3488111245_f610b6e386

And I once again must say, no matter how cliche it is, this little black dress is absolutely one of my wardrobe essentials.  It is such a versatile, all-season staple.  And it twirls.

3488111247_55fb5188dd

T-shirt: Target (thrifted)
Dress: American Rag (thrifted)
Shoes: Fluevog Malibrans
Scarf: Thrifted
Belt: VIntage
Purse: Re-conned
Bangle:Vintage
Pendant: Lii Lii (Etsy)
Earrings: Thrifted

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily Outfit: Return of the Malibrans

  1. Clare says:

    I love this outfit!! Definitely one of my faves of yours.

    Like

  2. Sal says:

    Hurrah! Glad that bangle surfaced so that the Malibrans can get more play time.

    Like

  3. Modest Mom says:

    Great outfit. Love the touch the shoes add.

    Like

  4. academichic says:

    We’re definitely on the same wavelength with the yellow shoe! I love these, they are super cute with that crossover strap! You look great and I’m glad the yellow shoes are no longer just on your profile picture but are making some live appearances!

    S.

    Like

  5. Anusha says:

    I love the whole outfit, esp. the way you put the colors together. That’s rad! I’ve read over the years how navy + yellow work well together, but incorporating black is new to me … I love it! Isn’t it amazing how that one special accessory just takes the whole look to another level?

    Like

  6. God I say this every time, but I love those shoes. Oh, and you have nothing to worry about regarding the yellow against your skin – it looks great!

    Like

  7. ambika says:

    Such cute, cute shoes! I don’t think I could refrain from wearing them every day.

    Like

  8. Camille says:

    Love this outfit! I can’t believe I just found you. Thank you Academichics for posting great pattern mixing examples! In a non-stalkerish, but fellow fashion blogger way, I’ll be watching you from now on! Keep up the good work!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Year in Review: April, May, June « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.