Daily Outfit: Cycle Chic

Velocouture is a recent style movement brought to my attention by S. over at Academichic in two recent posts.  I was so excited to hear about this, because I’ve already been cycling regularly for over a year, and I’ve been trying to find ways to stay stylish while riding my bike.  Also, this summer, I’ll be working from home a few days every week, and my plan is to ride my bike to the grocery store about a mile from my house on those days to get groceries.  Because riding your bike makes even the simplest errands so much fun. So, here’s my first of many bike-friendly outfits.
3531306184_d8b852ee7b

I will note that I usually don’t wear open toe sandals while riding my bike.  But since a) this is a short ride b) it’s all on residential streets and c) I don’t have black ballet flats, I decided that these will be okay.  Buying more stylish cycle-friendly shoes is definitely one of my goals.

3531306180_5cbf831733

Right now, I only buy a small amount of groceries on each trip, since all I have to carry them in is my front basket.  In the next few weeks, I have plans to buy some rear-folding baskets, which will allow me to carry two more bags of groceries.  Then, I can completely eliminate driving to the grocery store.

3531306176_45e1f15b61

Top: Target (via Revolve)
Capris: Erik Stewart
Shoes: Clarks Rime
Purse: Morelle City Bag
Headband: Target
Earrings: Modern Bird
Bracelet: Vintage
Bike: ’79 Chicago Schwinn Suburban

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily Outfit: Cycle Chic

  1. academichic says:

    Yay, so cute! I love your top, it’s so pretty and you look very cycle chic here! I’ve been biking in flip flops for short trips to the coffee shop and home (less than 3 miles round trip) and don’t have any problems with it. Thanks for the link to Wald products, they’re great and I loved the site, it’s definitely full of bike accessory goodies that I would love to get my hands on. For now, I’m tying not too invest too much money in this since I want to see how the bike commuting goes.

    Looking forward to more bike-chic looks from you this summer!
    S.

    Like

  2. Sal says:

    Love it! I’ll admit to pulling on my gym garb when I bike, but I so admire stylish cyclists.

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    What a gorgeous top! I think I’ll finally hop on this bandwagon and use my bike for more than just riding to class– thanks for the inspiration!

    undergradfab.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. Clare says:

    I love your top! It is so classically chic. I absolutely need to invest in a basket, since as of now my bike is used only for going to and from work, and only when I don’t have too much to carry. I love that biking is in! Finally!!

    Like

  5. Modest Mom says:

    Great outfit. I am sorry it isn’t safer to bike here. We’re on a major highway even though we’re in the country. I don’t know I would trust the vehicle drivers to not run me over.

    Like

  6. sillypanda says:

    When I lived in Miami I would ride my bike to the store. I used a big messenger bag to carry my groceries. Once you get used to the new balance, it’s pretty easy. I would just suggest putting boxed items in the basket. Otherwise they’ll poke you in the leg!

    Like

  7. winnie says:

    Haha I love this original take on the daily outfit…the bike is a great accessory too..and keeps you fit! That blouse is really pretty on you.

    Like

  8. WOW, YOU GO GIRL! WE HAVE BEEN RIDING BIKES MORE SINCE MY 4 YEAR OLD IS LEARNING BUT I AM NOT QUITE AS ENTHUSIATIC AS YOU!!!

    Like

  9. Sher says:

    Look forward to seeing more of your biking outfits! I live too far away from everything. My nearest grocery store is 7 miles. And when I go grocery shopping I load up the back of the SUV. If the kids are with me, I just pile the bags on top of them LOL!

    fashionafterforty.blogspot.com

    Like

  10. Anusha says:

    Wish I could still ride my bike around! I love your blouse and bag … how they go together. And the capri pants make this like a look out of one of those early ’60s movies!

    Like

  11. stylehighonashoestring says:

    Hi,

    I’ve been following your blog for a while now but haven’t commented before…I LOVE the idea of velocouture though! Your top is super cute too.

    Like Sher says, I can’t wait to see more biking outfits!

    Like

  12. mikael says:

    All shoes are cycle-friendly shoes. Every single pair. In the whole world.

    Like

Comments are closed.