Daily Outfit: Black With Pearls

Drawing from Kimberly’s Inspiration Calendar again, I decided to wear black with pearls on Monday.  This is a decidedly dressy combination, so I tried to find ways to style it that would make it slightly more casual and appropriate for daytime.  I love that this outfit let me use two things that I consider wardrobe essentials: my layer-able little black dress and my favorite strand of pearls.

3610126681_f71848f0f4

I decided to use blue and yellow as the accent colors in this outfit.  The scarf actually has stripes of both, so it brings it together.  I’m not sure if my gingham Dansko Neves were necessarily the right choice, but I liked the way they repeated the white of the pearls in a different part of the outfit.  It took me awhile to learn to like them, but I’ve really warmed up to them, and they’re fast become one of my favorite pairs of shoes.

3610126683_0acb44ce2c

I’m so happy that I can still wear this style of headband.  I was worried that getting my hair cut short again would prevent me from participating in this trend (which is really always in, isn’t it?).  This non-elastic headband that I bought at Target works perfectly for me, and it’s very comfortable too.

3610126693_b23f68d2e2

I will say that the layering made this outfit a bit warm for the swampy Florida outdoors.  However, I was spending most of my time in the office that day, and with frigid air conditioning, this was just fine with a light cardigan layered over it.

3610126699_44323248e3

I also unintentionally had a good bit of pattern mixing in this outfit.  Stripes on the scarf, gingham on the shoes, polka dots on the purse, and lace on the cami.

Dress: American Rag Cie (via Revolve)
Yellow cami: Old Navy
Shoes: Dankso Neve
Scarf (worn as belt): Thrifted
Pearls: Coryell Designs 
Bracelet: Crazy 4 Jewels
Headband: Target
Purse: Thrifted and re-conned

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily Outfit: Black With Pearls

  1. Kimberly says:

    I adore all of the pattern mixing and the casual spin you put on the inspiration!! Great look!

    Like

  2. Clare says:

    That dress is pretty much perfect on you! And I love the details!! I desperately need a lbd to call my own…

    Like

  3. Sal says:

    This is a fantastic silhouette for you, lady!

    Like

  4. puglyfeet says:

    Beautiful outfit — one of my favorites. Those Danskos are right on for this. 🙂

    Like

  5. Sher says:

    Yeah for polka dots 😀 Layering your yellow cami is a perfect idea! Love the pattern mixing, it works!

    Like

  6. WaterGirl says:

    Love the pop of blue and yellow with a basic black (but not boring) outfit!

    Like

  7. academichic says:

    This looks great! I love the little touches of color and pattern that make it more day appropriate! S.

    Like

  8. Andrea says:

    I love that polka-dot bag!

    Like

  9. Nadine says:

    You look really elegant today :)… and I love the cute blue bag.

    Like

  10. Cindee says:

    love the yellow color accents and scarf as belt. LOVE!

    Like

  11. Anusha says:

    Very pretty! I love the yellow highlights!

    Like

Comments are closed.