Daily Outfit: A Touch of Vintage

Once again taking cue from the inspiration calendar last Friday, I decided to spice up my outfit with a bit of vintage.  The only vintage items I own are accessories, so eventually I just decided on two of my favorites, this pink vintage lucite bracelet, and a vintage silk Vera scarf.  I actually wear this accessory combination quite a bit, but I love how beautiful and summery it is.

3625617136_9f74a32550

 

I should note that the green top actually does drape quite nicely, but for some reason it looks weird in these photos.  I got that on a very successful thrifting trip a few weeks ago.   Because it’s a very deep v, I usually wear something underneath it.  However, layering a full cami underneath can be too hot for the summer sometimes.  My new trick is to layer a plain, bandeau style jersey bra over my regular bra.  That way, I get coverage without extra sweat.

3625617180_41d8158293

Those shoes are some new ones I bought that day while shopping for  an interview ensemble.  They’re Clarks Apple Sky in black patent, and they were on sale at the Clarks store for only $50, which is a really good price for Clarks.  I wanted a nice, somewhat point patent pump for interviews, so that my shoes could spice things up a bit while still being relatively conservative.  These fit the bill perfectly.  

3625617156_9b9b75e34e

Unfortunately, I didn’t find a suit, this day or when I went shopping again on Saturday.   I did end up buying some fantastic new items and um… pushing myself over budget.  Half-way through the month.  Yeah.  I’m still trying to get the hang of this thing.  So besides buying a suit, I think I’m going to hold off on shopping for the rest of the month.  Hopefully, with the lovely new things I got, this won’t be too hard.

Blouse: Forever 21 (thrifted)
Pants: Banana Republic Outlet
Necklace: thrifted
Bangle: Vintage
Purse: Morelle Oyster
Scarf (tied on purse): Vintage
Shoes: Clarks Apple Sky

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping, Outfits. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily Outfit: A Touch of Vintage

  1. Sal says:

    The top is adorable, and SUCH a great color on you. And yikes, good luck with the suit hunt! I know it can be a bear to find a good-looking, affordable one …

    Like

  2. Sher says:

    Great idea on wearing a bandeau top underneath. Love that color on you also! And noticing the little touches, like the scarf tied to your bag NICE!

    Like

  3. Gorgeous, darling!
    The scarf-tied bag is such a chic touch!

    xoxox,
    CC

    Like

  4. elenalu says:

    that scarf is gorgeous! love how you casually tied it to the purse like that!

    Like

  5. WaterGirl says:

    The color of that blouse is GREAT on you!

    Like

  6. Fabulous outfit and that is YOUR color. The shoes? You know I’m a fan. I might link to you again as I’ve had some readers asking about comfortable work appropriate shoes.

    Like

  7. Nadine says:

    The scarf on your bag is a really nice idea and I also love the colorful accent you’ve created with the shirt.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Daily Outfit: Finding My Color « Simple Elegance

Comments are closed.