Daily Outfit: Menswear (For Ladies)

Once again, Kim’s Inspiration calendar lead to today’s outfit.  Tuesday’s theme was menswear, and it just so happens that I got myself a waistcoat for a mere $10 at Ann Taylor LOFT on Friday.  This gave me the perfect excuse to wear it.  Layering may seem like a bad idea in the summer, but it’s so hot and humid in Florida right now that no matter what you’re wearing, you’ll be sweating after five minutes outside.  My new summer motto is: “You’re going to sweat anyway, so you might as well sweat in style”.

3633017932_1e1ba0e3a8

I normally don’t like to wear primarily black outfits, as I think that 1) the color is way overused 2) it looks like you’re going to a funeral and 3) it’s not exactly summery.  I made it work for me in this outfit by using a light cream tee and bright turquoise accessories for contrast.  I think it’s the beautiful punches of color that really steal the show.

3633017930_e368cae105

I just found that beautiful turquoise croc print belt while thrifting at Salvation Army last week.  I had several great finds there, including my first ever Boden skirt!  The best surprise came when I checked out, and discovered that everything was 50% off.  That made this belt cost a mere $1!

3633017938_69c01b696b

I really want to buy more colorful, chunky jewelry like this necklace.  I’ve been wearing it a lot, because I love how it can instantly brighten up an outfit.

3633017942_6011ed934c

So here’s a quick question for you.  I ordered a suit from J Crew, but I’m not sure if it’s going to arrive in time for my first interview.  Could wearing something like this be appropriate for an interview?  Or do I need to go more conservative?  I’m interviewing at an elementary school, and I’m considering trying to find a black blazer that I could wear if my suit doesn’t arrive in time.  What do you think?

Tee: Target (Thrifted)
Waistcoat: Ann Taylor LOFT
Pants: Express
Shoes: Clarks Apple Sky
Necklace: Express
Belt: Thrifted
Bracelet: Gift from friend
Earrings: June Designs 

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Daily Outfit: Menswear (For Ladies)

  1. Cindee says:

    ya know…i recently got some kind of discount card in the mail from Express which featured a model wearing a vest over a shirt, with a belt over the vest like you’ve done here. and i have been anxiously awaiting an opportunity (or an idea maybe) to do the same! i really like your vest/belt combo here! i also like the simplicity of the black and white punched up with a bright color!

    Like

  2. Goober says:

    I agree with Cindee – I like the punch of color with the black and white. You look great!

    I think you could wear something like this for an interview – though I’d swap a blouse for the tee.

    Like

  3. Sal says:

    I bought the very same vest a couple of weeks ago!

    If you do a black blazer on top of what you’re wearing right now, I think you could get away with this for an interview.

    Like

  4. Kimberly says:

    Love the belted vest!! Also, I agree about swapping out the tee for a blouse to make it more interview appropriate and adding a blazer.

    Like

  5. Nadine says:

    The colorful belt is a really nice idea :).

    Like

  6. camille says:

    I think for an elementary school you could get aways with a blouse instead of the t if you change your pants for a pencil skirt. I love your accessories in this outfit to livin’ it up!

    Like

  7. elenalu says:

    i love love love the colored belt over the black awesome touch! and i think if you change the tee that would make it ok for the interview (if the blazer doesnt come in time!)

    Like

  8. Elaine says:

    Love the pop of color! Great way to break up the black and white…and I love me some black and white!!!!

    http://clothedmuch.blogspot.com

    Like

  9. m says:

    this outfit is hot! and it looks great on your curves.

    Like

  10. chezshoes says:

    I think this is perfectly fine for an interview. I know my perspective is a little skewed because (a) I’m in Los Angeles and (b) I work for a dot-com, but rarely have I ever seen anybody show up in a suit for interviews at my company. I’m still of the “if you have a suit, wear it” mindset, but if you don’t – it’s definitely possible to still look confident and professional, and I think you can pull this off 🙂

    Like

  11. Sher says:

    Love the belted vest look! And why not sweat in style LOL!

    Like

  12. WaterGirl says:

    I have that same vest in khaki but haven’t really figured out a way to wear that I liked…love this look on you so I might have to try a version of it myself. 🙂

    Like

  13. sallymandy says:

    Cute, cute! I’ve always loved menswear, and I’m especially happy that it works as well for me in my 40s as it did in my 20s. I just feel good and kind of sassy and attitude-y in it. That’s good.

    You look really cute here. The turquoise belt is a great touch, keeps it from being too serious.

    You have a lovely blog! Thanks for visiting mine today.

    ♥ Sallymandy ♥ The Blue Kimono

    Like

  14. Anusha says:

    Yay for waistcoats! This looks really really good on you! I’ve been looking for a black or gray one for a while now, with no luck, but I keep looking. I’m glad they’re back in style.

    Like

  15. Patricia says:

    I like your outfit and your great find. I love shopping at goodwill and finding cute stuff for cheap. I found a pair of target shorts that I had and ruined for like 4 bucks and I was soo happy.

    I think the blazer with the black pants and a nice blouse would be great for an interview. I think you should take some pics of your interview options and have us pick out the best one!! That would be fun.

    -Patricia

    Like

  16. Pingback: Daily Outfit: White Cardi with a Dress « Simple Elegance

  17. Pingback: Year in Review: April, May, June « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.