Daily Outfit: Saturday Shopping

On Saturday, I was on a mission.  Find something to wear to an interview, and dress comfortably and stylishly enough to feel good even though I was a bit stressed out.  I had ordered a suit from JCrew, which was amazing quality, but I didn’t like the fit, and with as much as it cost ($396!!) I wanted something that I would absolutely love.  So I trekked out to International Mall, to return the JCrew suit and see if I could find a substitute.  When I took it back to the store, they offered to send a different size with no shipping charges, but it wouldn’t arrive until mid-July, which would be too late for my interviews.  So I started walking around the mall to scout out some other suits.  I knew that I wanted a skirt suit, and that I preferred pinstripe if I could get it.  I finally struck gold at Nordstroms.   You’ll be seeing some snazzy new work and interview looks soon!  Now, here’s what I wore while shopping:

3644421611_fbd79559d5

I was so happy in this ensemble.  The fabrics were all very soft and comfortable (cotton, silk, etc).  It was exactly what I needed.  And I even tried out tucking a shirt into a skirt again.  I think it’s growing on me.

3644421619_462b5e450f

That gorgeous little cotton silk skirt was one of the treasures I found recently at Anthropologie.  It took me awhile to decide whether or not to buy it, as I knew the price tag ($100) would make me go over budget.  But I absolutely loved how it looked on me.  I loved the softness of the silk cotton blend.  I loved the button details on the pockets.  And when I found out that it was machine washable, I was sold.  So, um, I’m over budget again.  But I’m loving my new clothes!  Next month I’ll get back on track (really).

3644421625_d9a67406ca

This super comfy elastic vintage belt worked perfectly with this outfit.  It stays on nicely, adds an extra bit of color, and brings everything together.  My faithful lime green purse added another pop of color, keeping things from getting too  monochrome.

3644421627_06a7dce875

Blouse: Target (via Classy Consignments)
Skirt: Anthropologie
Cardigan: Ann Taylor LOFT
Purse: Easy Spirit
Shoes: Naturalizer
Belt: Vintage (via Second Image)
Necklace: Kira Ferrer
Bangles: Jill Popowich
Earrings: Sara Westermark

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Daily Outfit: Saturday Shopping

  1. bluerose says:

    This is incredibly flattering. Ir is soft and a little flowing, and the proportions are perfect.

    Like

  2. Cindee says:

    this outfit looks super comfy and chic! very flattering! keep tucking in those shirts!! the look suits you!

    Like

  3. Bianca says:

    Cute outfit…. I love the color of the handbag – its like fresh edamame!

    I am glad the suit thing worked out. I was recently on a suit buying kick as I will be looking for a job soon. I ended up with a light wool pinstripe from Talbots. So, great minds? 🙂

    Like

  4. ambika says:

    Really love that skirt–and this color scheme is just perfect.

    Like

  5. elenalu says:

    very flattering and i love the green and blue combo
    cant wait to see the interview outfit!

    Like

  6. Goober says:

    Cute skirt! I can’t wait to see all your new work and interview clothes.

    Like

  7. Really cute skirt, darling! Love the green bag too! Wonderful combo ~ you look lovely!

    xoxox,
    CC

    Like

  8. Megan says:

    I am wary of tucking into a skirt because of “the ladies” looking even larger. But you pull it off so well! I love love love that belt with it.

    Like

  9. Sher says:

    Love that skirt on you! Can’t wait to see you model the new suit.

    Like

  10. I love the tones in your outfit. The belt is very cute too.

    Like

  11. sallymandy says:

    Your green purse is fabulous. Skirt looks great–and kudos to you for keeping the shopping outfit COMFORTABLE!

    Like

  12. WaterGirl says:

    The shirt-tucked-into-skirt look is asbolutely fab on you! Keep on tucking girl!

    Like

  13. puglyfeet says:

    I adore this outfit, Diana!

    And, LOVE your skirt — it’s also the perfect length. I seem to have trouble discerning the proper skirt length (for my height), as I tend to look dowdy. Hmmm.. right above the knee. I’m going to give that a try.

    Like

  14. Camille says:

    I LOVE this outfit! Anthro seems to have the same affect on me. I usually can walk away, but sometimes there is that one item that you have to have and you think- OK cereal for every meal this week!

    Like

  15. Finding an outfit for an interview is ALWAYS my biggest fashion crisis. Good luck!

    xo,
    SORINO

    Like

  16. Anusha says:

    Yay! I’m looking forward to seeing your interview outfits!

    That skirt is just adorable, and worth every penny I think. The color is classic, the styling very flattering — I think you’ll be able to wear it forever. Cotton/silk is just the best fabric. Sooo comfortable and looks graceful and pretty.

    Like

Comments are closed.