Daily Outfit: Monochromatic Blue

Going with Kim’s wonderful inspiration calendar again, I went with monochromatic blue for Monday.  This challenge surprised me – I figured it would be easy, since I have lots of blue in my wardrobe, but when trying to put something together, I realized that many of the shades don’t work well together.  I finally went with blue jeans (which were fine indoors, but oppressively hot outdoors), a tank and a cardigan (which was indoors only).  I added some contrast by wearing a navy scarf as a headband, carrying a navy tote, and throwing in some brown sandals so it wasn’t too monochromatic.  Neutral silver jewelry topped it all off.

head to toe

That cardigan was a recent Anthropologie sale purchase.  I adore it, but I hadn’t worn it yet because of the ridiculous heat wave we’ve been experiencing in Florida lately.  It was just right for my nice, chilly office though.  What I love most about this cardigan is the gorgeous details, like the fabric covered buttons, the matching placket lining,the adorable pockets, and the contrasting bands.  The texture is also very unique, as it’s a reverse stockinette in fair isle.  This will be getting tons of wear in the fall.

cardi

details

This outfit also lets me debut my new Born Savory sandals.  I got these a few weeks ago, while looking for a comfortable, strappy sandal.  They took a few days to break in, but now they’re relatively comfortable, only giving me blisters if I do lots of walking.  I love them so much, I’m thinking about buying a second pair in orange or blue, since they’re on sale right now at 6pm.

savory

In the afternoon, I ditched the cardigan, traded the sandals for Chucks, and played tourist with my boyfriend and some friends of ours.  We checked out the touristy parts of our city, and then went bowling.   You can imagine my crazy happy dance when I got a strike.

bowling

Cardigan: Anthropologie
Tank: Old Navy
Jeans: Express Stella
Sandals: Born Savory
Scarf (worn as headband): Vintage
Earrings: June Designs
Necklace: June Designs
Bangles: Jill Popowich
Tote: Thrifted and re-conned

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily Outfit: Monochromatic Blue

  1. Sher says:

    You always look beautiful in headbands. And I like the pattern mixing by your striped tank and your handbag 🙂

    Like

  2. Sal says:

    Blue really suits you, doll.

    Like

  3. Camille says:

    HAHA- I already commented on fliker- I love that we’re friends in a couple places (if you’re ever in AZ or I’m in FL, let’s chat in real life)- but seriously I love this look! I just found that sweater for CHEAP at Antrho, and had to have it! I’m waiting until it’s not 110 outside to wear it, but I’m pumped to copy this!

    Like

  4. Modest Mom says:

    Don’t you look great! Blue looks so good on you I can see why you have a lot of blue pieces.

    Like

  5. Goober says:

    That cardigan is adorable!

    Like

  6. Anusha says:

    Very pretty cardi! I love the mix of all the blue shades.

    Like

  7. WaterGirl says:

    Blue is a great color on you and that cardi is fab…and I know what you mean about carrying a cardi to wear in the freezing confines of an office but yanking it off the second you go outside. Ahh, Florida summers…sooooo stinkin’ hot!

    Like

  8. eyeliah says:

    oh those buttons are optimum sweetness! :p

    Like

  9. Pingback: Daily Outfit: Finding My Color « Simple Elegance

  10. Deva says:

    You look so great in this look, and thank you for your great detailed shots of your outfits. I must admit, after seeing the close up of your shoes, I decided to get the same sandals in gold from 6.pm.com (they were in my cart for a few days). Borns are such good shoes, and at $24 they are a steal.

    Like

Comments are closed.