Daily Outfit: From Gathers to Darts

I had one of those monday mornings yesterday where I felt tired, cranky, and un-eager to deal with the rest of the world.  It took me about an hour to get dressed, as I kept feeling unsatisfied with everything.  I finally selected one of my new tops from my work/interview shopping to wear, only to discover that there was one problem.  See if you can figure it out.

3673087054_34708db156

You guessed the baggy fabric underneath my chest right?  This beautiful wrap top is a nice structured cotton, perfect for the summer.  But for some reason, the designer decided to place gathers a good two inches below the bust line, leaving lots of extra fabric where it isn’t needed.  I ended up wearing the top like this most of the day, but I when I got home, I broke out my seam ripper and sewing machine.  This is normally something I would take to a tailor but 1) I was feeling really ambitious and 2) I wanted it now.  I took out the gathers, pressed them flat, made new darts that ended at the bust line.  I sewed them back in and voila!  a much better fitting blouse!

3673087072_12744ec761

Like I said, this is one of the fabulous items bought recently at Nordstroms, along with my gorgeous teal top that you saw yesterday.  Since this is sleeveless, I wouldn’t wear it to an interview.  But it’s great for a regular day of work, and it looks amazingly sharp over a pencil skirt.  You’ll be seeing the rest of my interview wear soon, which includes my fab pencil skirt, a pinstripe blazer, and a silk black and white printed top.  Since almost everything was on sale, I got all these items, alterations to the blazer, and a pair of Spanx, for less than the suit I was originally going to get from JCrew would have cost me!  I never would have thought of Nordstrom as a bargain before!  (Of course, I should note that the money for my interview clothes came from extra money I took out this semester for this specific purpose, not from my regular budget)

3673087062_eecf181126

I’m so glad to finally have some jeans at the right length for heels.  All my other pairs had been hemmed too short.  With these, I specifically tried them on with shoes my average heel height (about 2 3/4 inches) and then hemmed them so they would fall about 1 inch from the ground.

3673087082_1a0c020516

My shoes end up just peeking out from under my jeans this way, but the longer hem creates a much nicer line.

3673087076_d99652cfec

Blouse: Great Plains (Nordstroms)
Camisole: Old Navy
Jeans: Express Stella
Shoes: Dansko Neve
Pearls: ???
Earrings: Sara Westermark
Cuff: Thrifted
Purse: Morelle Oyster

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily Outfit: From Gathers to Darts

  1. Clare says:

    I envy your ability to sew…my skill is about at par with learning the alphabet and getting stuck on F. I CAN, however, hand-sew a hem onto my jeans; a skill I was forced to learn early, with my 5’2″ body.

    Also, I love the little details on this outfit; the bracelet, bag, and shoes really bring the whole thing together while still letting that gorgeous shirt stand out!

    Like

  2. love it- sooo pretty!

    Like

  3. Cindee says:

    well that’s really awesome that you have the skills and wherewithal to fix a top and make it suit you! it looks great! and from what i can see of your shoes, those look great too and go really well with the outfit!!

    Like

  4. Tina says:

    Holy Alterations, Batman! The top looks so much better. I’m jealous of your bravery. I don’t usualy have the gumption to alter something that I already like. I only attack items that I would never wear as is. I’m impressed.

    Like

  5. puglyfeet says:

    Lovely! It’s cool how you can alter your own clothes.

    Like

  6. Sal says:

    SUCH an improvement! Glad you were able to take care of those alterations yourself.

    Like

  7. winnie says:

    It looks really awesome. I love making things my own too. That cuff is gorgeous and even better that it was a thrifted find, what a gem!

    Like

  8. Sarah says:

    Your site is really inspirational. You are just adorable and have a great sense of style! I check you out almost every day and find useful and inspiring ideas. Keep up the good work!

    Sarah in Sweden

    Like

  9. Patricia says:

    I like the top its really cute. You did a great job on the sewing. I wish that I could sew clothes!!!

    Like

  10. WaterGirl says:

    Love the floral print and the color of the turquoise top yesterday is gorgeous! And I often have to alter or hem certain pieces to make them a better fit for me (especially pants)…hope you’re staying cool in Tampa (yea, I know that’s pretty much impossible)!

    Like

  11. Mary says:

    What an awesome recon! It looks one million times more fabulous 🙂

    Like

  12. dottie says:

    I love the blue gingham shoes with red toenails!

    Like

Comments are closed.