Daily Outfit: Because We All Have Off-Days

I think it’s something about the high humidity, the constant rainy weather, and the stress of not having a definite job lined up yet for next month.  Yesterday, I just really wanted to stay home, read in bed all day, and eat soup.  But I had to go to work and I had to be presentable.  I wanted to be really comfortable and because it was “chilly”, I wanted my legs to be covered.  I kept trying on outfits and getting frustrated until I finally accepted that today was just going to be an off-day.  You know, one of those days where you just don’t feel like doing anything, one of those days where you accept that your outfit may not be the most amazing thing ever.  And accepting that it’s okay, that some days you just need “comfort style”.

3705819104_088d5a7799

Even though I wasn’t super happy with the outfit at the beginning of the day, it began to grow on me and now I actually like it.  Admittedly, the colors of the blouse are a bit more fall than summer, and a floral and butterfly print isn’t normally my style.  But it was comfortable, it was flattering, and I actually got to wear a scarf and a cardigan, which I haven’t gotten to do in months.  I had forgotten just how comforting it is to have soft fabric right against your neck.  It made the day a little bit easier to deal with.

3705819108_d395997d44

Did I mention that it was drizzly most of the day?  So why did I wear sandals and not my wellies?  I don’t know – I think I was just too frazzled that morning to realize just how much it was going to rain.  And while I adore my Plueys, I’d like to get a solid colored pair of wellies as well that can match a bit more in my wardrobe  – maybe red or yellow.

3705819116_92cb89d8e6

My beloved lime leather bag is finally starting to show some signs of wear.  The interior lining has torn a bit from the seams in a few places.  It won’t be very difficult to fix, and I’ve used it a ton since I bought it a year ago, so I’m not too upset.

3705819122_d741f609fb

Also, sorry there was no Etsy Love post this week.  I’ve been trying to figure out a new schedule for blog posts to get something that works well for me, and I think I have it now.  Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays will usually be outfit posts.  Wednesdays will be Etsy Love, to help us get through the mid-week hump.  Sunday will continue to be Shoe Lust, while Saturday will vary from week to week, sometimes philosophical waxing, sometimes budgeting, sometimes What I’m Lovin’ etc.

Blouse: L8ter (thrifted)
Jeans: Express Stella
Cardigan: Ann Taylor LOFT
Scarf: Kohls
Sandals: Born Savory
Purse: Easy Spirit
Earrings: June Designs
Bangles: Jill Popowich

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Outfit: Because We All Have Off-Days

  1. Clare says:

    I like how you’ve tied the scarf! And I’m sorry you felt like you had an off-day, but I think you look great!

    Like

  2. Sher says:

    For comfort style you still are chic by adding that scarf and bag 🙂 Lovely as always, have a great weekend!

    Like

  3. Sal says:

    I know just what you mean about off days, but I also love this ensemble. Great colors, love that pattern peeking out, and the bright bag is a fabulous touch.

    Like

  4. Modest Mom says:

    Your bag is my absolute favorite color! I love it! I’m having an off day today so I know how it goes.

    Like

  5. Goober says:

    You look adorable – certainly not like you are having an off-day.

    Like

  6. m says:

    sorry you were feeling icky! but you don’t look it. actually, it looks like the comfort outfit did its job and made you feel better and end up looking great 🙂

    Like

  7. WaterGirl says:

    Girl, I know exactly what you mean. It sounds like we had the exact same day yesterday. After trying on multiple outfits, and not liking any of them, I finally threw on some jeans and a 3/4 sleeve blazer. It has to be all this dang rain. Hopefully the sun will come back soon…hope you have a great weekend!

    Like

Comments are closed.