Wardrobe Inventory: What I'm Ditching

3698226774_c3eb83572d

I realize it’s been awhile, but do you remember when I started my wardrobe inventory project back in May?  I started out by counting all the different items in my wardrobe, which helped me to see where my strengths and weaknesses were.  Then I brought everything out of my closet and photographed it, to get an even better idea of what was lacking.  After that, I turned all the hangers around in my closet to see what I was actually wearing for four weeks.  I noticed that there were certain wardrobe essentials that I would wear almost every week, while there were other items that languished.  Some of these simply weren’t seasonally appropriate: either the colors were a bit too fall/winter, or they were simply too warm to wear in 90 degree temps.  Other items though, I simply wasn’t happy with.  So here’s a summary of why I ditched what I ditched.

Anything 60% or more polyester:

I didn’t make this a hard and fast rule, but it just naturally happened.  I found myself absolutely hating the way anything with a high polyester content felt on my skin, even if the colors and fit were just fine.  I didn’t enjoy wearing these items, so out they go.  The one somewhat exception is the brown/pink abstract floral dress.  I love the cut of this dress on me, so my plan is to find a tailor that can make a copy of it in a fabric that I can enjoy having next to my skin.

Anything in a color or cut that doesn’t flatter

For one, I’ve discovered that I’m not a big fan of pink.  I don’t particularly like how it looks on me.  So pink items were ditched.  As far as fit, anything that makes me look preggo, anything with elastic on the sleeve hems, or anything that just plains looks frumpy, is out.

Anything with negative associations

I didn’t have much in this area, but I have before.  Items that you associate with an ex, with the death of a loved one, with a negative period in your life, tend to hold you back.  Anything like this is out.

So that’s a general synopsis of what I decided to get rid of.  Stay tuned for a look at what I bought during this period and why, as well as what my wardrobe essentials and wardrobe gaps are.  And please feel free to follow along with the Wardrobe Inventory.  It can really change how you look at your closet.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wardrobe Inventory: What I'm Ditching

  1. Sher says:

    How true about the negative association rule! I use that too, but never consciously labeled it a category. Very good call!

    Like

  2. Bianca says:

    Good work Diana! I love hearing about people who do this exercise and the results. Some day I will stop being lazy, and do it as well LOL!

    Oh and, I totally feel you on the polyester. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Daily Outfit: Tutti Fruity « Simple Elegance

Comments are closed.