Daily Outfit: Summer Casual

Over the weekend, the weather finally started to become pleasant.  Instead of constant rain all day, we had light summer showers in the afternoons.  Instead of blazing heat and swampy humidity, the temperatures were moderate and there was a light breeze.  This weekend truly had me embracing summer casual.

3710480533_c7e2ab4e36

I was beginning to be convinced that I would never get to wear summer scarves this year, but everything was just right to wear one last Friday.  I bought it just a few weeks ago, as part of my goal to get as many items as possible in this new favorite color of mine.  It’s a nice, soft, crinkly rayon, just right to add some class to a casual summer outfit.

3710480537_58320735cc

I spent Friday running around town doing errands.  I went and got a manicure/pedicure in anticipation of an interview I have today (Monday).  It may seem like a trivial thing, but that my nails look nice is a real confidence booster for me, especially since I have the bad habit of nibbling at my cuticles when stressed.  I chose a coral polish for my toenails.  The interviewers won’t see this since I’ll be wearing closed toed shoes, but I’ll know it’s there.  It’s such a perfect, fun shade for summer.

3710480541_3c94450c7c

I’ve also been embracing wearing minimum makeup this summer.  Most days, I just put on a little powder to keep the shine away, and a touch of mascara.  It feels nice to give my skin a bit of a break.

3710480543_f6ee2fab8e

Tee: Express
Scarf: Express
Shorts: Ann Taylor LOFT (hemmed)
Sandals: Born Savory
Purse: Morelle Charlotte
Bangle: Thrifted
Necklace: June Designs
Earrings: June Designs

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Outfit: Summer Casual

  1. Clare says:

    You look beautiful with minimal makeup!! And I’m loving your new favorite color!!

    Good luck on your interview!!!

    Like

  2. Sal says:

    Got my first mani-pedi of the summer this weekend, too! Makes a HUGE difference, doesn’t it? All my sandals look amazing now. 😉

    Like

  3. Sher says:

    Love turquoise and brown! good luck on your interview!

    Like

  4. WaterGirl says:

    Love the blue/brown combo. Good for you to treat yourself to a mani/pedi…I completely agree that little things like that really can make a big difference. Best of luck with the interview today!

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    Love this color on you, especially that great scarf! Good luck with your interview!

    Like

  6. Bianca says:

    That color is your color! Beautiful! Good luck with the interview! Oh – and I still want to see the suit! 🙂

    Did those AT Shorts used to have a chunky cuff on them before hemming? I have a pair that looks similar, and I hate the cuff. I don’t know why I never thought of just having the shorts hemmed straight. Thats why I love reading blogs – so many good ideas.

    Like

  7. Anusha says:

    I think turquoise and brown are perfect together too. That color combo has a special place in my heart because it’s what I was wearing when I first met my husband! He still talks about the turquoise top. ^__^

    Like

Comments are closed.