Daily Outfit: Interview Time

So yesterday I had an interview.  Everything I have read advised that you should wear a suit, so I got one on sale at Nordstrom.  I’m not exactly crazy about wearing a suit, or about how it looks on me, but it is what it is (and the blazer really doesn’t fit as badly as this photo makes it look).

3718905752_2c52a86617

That’s what I planned to wear.  However, when I got to the school, I found out that the air conditioning was being fixed.  I made the decision to switch to my back-up plan because I thought it would be a bit more professional to sacrifice the blazer for the sake of not pouring down sweat.  I think I still looked professional, and I actually like the second incarnation of the outfit better.

3718905722_8c636f7d74

I felt a lot more comfortable in this outfit.  That blouse is silk, and so amazingly soft.  I kept things to a classic, black and white with a pop of color palette.  I kept the jewelry simple and classic with pearls and a nice watch.  I went a little fun with the shoes by going with black patent heels.  Overall, I like how it turned out.

3718905736_74a94f2470

What you don’t see here is my interview tool kit, which I took along with me to prevent any problems.  I threw into a tote bag: a book to read in case I got to the location too early, a lint roller, compact, tissues, stain remover, back-up heels, a back-up blouse, mints, deodorant, an umbrella etc.  While I didn’t end up needing much of this, it gave me great peace of mind to know that I had it.  And just to clarify, the tool kit stayed in the car during the actual interview.

3718905742_45d32ec42b

The interview went pretty well.  I’ll keep you updated, and you’ll be seeing some more interview looks on here soon.

Blouse: Micheal Kors
Waistcoat: Ann Taylor LOFT
Skirt: Semantics (Nordstrom)
Shoes: Clarks Apple Sky
Purse: Easy Spirit
Peals: Coryell Design
Earrings: Coryell Design
Watch: Target

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily Outfit: Interview Time

  1. Clare says:

    Oh, I love what you ended up wearing! They are both great interview looks, but the second one really looks like YOU. And interviewers need to get a feel for who they’re interviewing! Good luck!!

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    You look great! Hope the interview went well.

    Like

  3. Cindee says:

    i think you got a really flattering suit there! i love that it has the vest option. and who can blame you for not wanting to sweat to death?? i must say you are far more prepared for interviews than i typically have been! at the interview for my current job (which i did about 8 months ago), it was cold and i had a gigantic wool coat with me that i had no clue what to do with. i should have left it in the car and bared the chill in the air between it and the interview site! ah well! it still went okay!

    Like

  4. Sal says:

    The vest is perfect! Glad you went with that incarnation … but sorry to hear it was caused by an AC outage … yikes.

    Like

  5. Denise says:

    You look great in that suit! Hopefully you won’t have too many more interviews to go to.

    Like

  6. Struggler says:

    Well, if you don’t get the job, it won’t be because of your outfit – you look great and, I would say, for a job at a school, a bit more approachable than with the blazer on.
    Best of luck!

    Like

  7. Eyeliah says:

    Nice interview outfit, I usually wear a red dress shirt to interviews as I remember reading somewhere that increases the chances of getting hired, lol.

    Like

  8. Bianca says:

    The suit looks great! I love the shape of the jacket!

    As you are probably guessing I am LMAO that you bought a suit and did not wear it to the interview -and I bought a suit and have not worn it to 2 interviews now LOL~I do love the vest as jacket. 🙂

    Like

  9. Sher says:

    Beautiful basic outfit! Both looks are professional and conservative. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

    Like

  10. Goober says:

    I love what you ended up wearing – so stylish and professional. In my opinion whatever you wear that makes you feel confident and comfortable – that is the best thing to wear to an interview – I think it definitely shines through. Hope the interview went well!

    Like

  11. WaterGirl says:

    Great professional look (both of them in my opinion)…hope the interview went well. Fingers crossed for ya! 🙂

    Like

  12. Pingback: Daily Outfit: Interview Chic « Simple Elegance

Comments are closed.