Wardrobe Inventory: My Gaps

While spending all this time analyzing my wardrobe, I’ve noticed quite a few gaps.  Some are more significant than others; some are ultra specific while others are very general.  I’m documenting it here because I want to be more intentional with my shopping.  These items really need to be given priority over, say, getting yet another cardigan.  This list isn’t my full exhaustive list that I carry around with me.  Rather, I decided to keep it to the items that are currently priorities for me.  Here we go.

A Classic Ballet Flat

french sole

French Sole Sloop  $100

Would you believe that with all my shoes and my love of French style, I do not own a single pair of ballet flats?  There’s been so many days that I’ve been putting an outfit together and wished that I had a pair.  This really needs to be resolved.

A Structured Jacket

panama

Elizabeth and James ‘Panama’ Stretch Woven Jacket  $385

I own lots of items with soft lines, but very little with structure.  I’ve got tons of cardigans, but only on long sleeve blazer and one short sleeve blazer.  I’d love to get some more structured jackets to add polish to outfits.  My priorities are short sleeve and three-quarter sleeve jackets.

Summer Shorts

chinoshorts

J. Crew 5′ Chino Shorts  $29.50 (on sale)

I realize this one is season specific, but Florida stays broiling hot for far too long, and I don’t have any cute short shorts.  I would love to get several pairs in a variety of colors, especially white.

Brown Leather Bag

mini truffle

Mini Truffle in Toffee  $172

(this one sold awhile ago, but Morelle still has many similar bags)

Maybe this one isn’t quite as urgent, but I’m really feeling the yearning for a quality, brown leather bag.  I’ve finally started acquiring some brown shoes that would go with it, and I’d love to have another neutral alternative to black.  I’d also love to get a red bag, an aqua bag and a creamy white bag at some point soon.  Sigh.

A Denim Skirt

ann taylor mini

Ann Taylor Dark Wash Denim Skirt  $59

I only have one denim skirt right now, and it has fit issues.  I’d love to own a few denim skirts, some in dark washes for work and others in lighter washes for the weekend.

A Drapey Vest

protean

Anthropologie Protean Pretty Vest $78

I love the layering possibilities of this style, but I have to be careful with the length. I’ve tried on a few that came down to my upper thigh, and they were not so flattering from the rear view.  I’d like to get something a bit shorter, hitting right around or just above my hip.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wardrobe Inventory: My Gaps

  1. Sher says:

    You must snap up those shorts while they are on sale ;D

    Like

  2. Meg says:

    I really want a structured jacket and a drapy vest too! Now you’ve made me really want to go shopping.

    Like

  3. Alli says:

    I bet you could knit an awesome drapey vest!!! That way it would be just the right length and the right weight.

    Even though I live in Alaska in a town where people wear their pajama pants to the theater I really enjoy reading about your take on style and especially your great layering tips!

    Like

  4. Kristen says:

    I can absolutely see you rocking a drapey vest. I just picked up a great dark denim skirt at J Crew Outlet for $40. Worth checking out if you are near one.

    Man, you are going to break down my resistence to those Morelle bags, aren’t you> Glad their shop is back up, and hopefully they will get in some new colors for the Oyster. I love yours!

    I really like what you are doing with the taking an inventory of your wardrobe, being ruthless about paring it down, and now looking at the gaps. I’ve been following you all the way!

    Like

  5. winnie says:

    I really like the look of that drapey dress (great colour too) and those cute shoes. Also coral is such a summery colour, It’s like my favourite shade of nail polish at the moment.

    Like

  6. L C says:

    I’m a big Morelle fan, too. <psst> 20% off sale until July 31! (I’m trying not to pull out my credit card…)

    Like

  7. bluerose says:

    Drapey vests are really easy to sew. A rectangle with two armholes or one larger hole to put both arms through.

    Like

  8. Kristine says:

    Target has a great selection of ballet flats. That’s where I get almost all of mine! Great prices too!

    Like

  9. eyeliah says:

    I carry this list too! It helps me when shopping to stick to what I need. Ballet flats are always something I look for since I go thru them rapidly.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Daily Outfit: Aqua and Red « Simple Elegance

  11. Pingback: My Growing Morelle Collection « Simple Elegance

  12. Pingback: Accessories Inventory: Gaps « Simple Elegance

  13. Pingback: Smiles Go With Everything » Blog Archive » Accessories Inventory: Gaps

Comments are closed.