Daily Outfit: All about the bag

dress

I had a lot of fun with this outfit yesterday.  My main goal was to showcase this lovely bag that I won from Mary over at Undergrad Fab.  Since the bag has a very strong and vibrant floral pattern,  I wanted to limit everything else to solids and colors that would compliment the bag instead of distract from it.  And there’s no more perfect canvas to showcase a beautiful bag than a little black dress.  I layered a green blouse underneath it to add some visual interest with contrasting necklines, as well as to create a purple/green color combo, which is something I always find pleasing.

top

I went for beautiful and bold silver accessories that wouldn’t take away from the bag, but add additional visual interest.  I recently thrifted that lovely belt for all of one dollar, and I created an echo of it with the chunky silver cuff.  I kept the earrings to simple small hoops, and chose a necklace that would follow the deep v of the blouse.

necklace

I’m really, really pleased with how it all came together.  The colors were vibrant, the feel was simple and summery, and because everything was jersey, it was super comfortable.  Perfect for an easy summer day.

bag
3762172882_1177d98563

Blouse: Forever 21 (thrifted)
Dress: American Rag Cie (via Revolve)
Sandals: Dansko Neve
Bag: Giveaway from Undergrad Fab
Belt: Thrifted
Earrings: Sara Westermark
Necklace: June Designs
Bangle: Thrifted

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Daily Outfit: All about the bag

  1. Mary says:

    This is so fabulous!! I love how you layered the contrasting necklines, and the bag looks fantastic on you. I’m so happy to see it’s getting such stylish good use 🙂 🙂

    Like

  2. Clare says:

    I’m mad jealous of that bag. Also, you are seriously a pro at mixing colors and necklines…looks great!

    Like

  3. Sal says:

    Well played, doll. And I’m a big fan of that neckline-layering trick, too!

    Like

  4. Goober says:

    I just LOVE the blouse underneath the dress – the contrasting colors and necklines are wonderful!

    Like

  5. Kasmira says:

    This is a very pretty outfit!

    And, I thrifted a similar belt (http://whatiwore2day.blogspot.com/2009/05/hi-ho.html). I’ll have to dig mine out.

    Like

  6. WaterGirl says:

    Love the pop of color with the shirt underneath and of course that fab bag!

    Like

  7. Love the peak of teal with your black dress!

    Like

  8. Kristen says:

    Adorable! Love the contrasting necklines, and now I want THAT bag!

    Like

  9. Cindee says:

    super cute outfit and gorgeous bag!

    Like

  10. DJ says:

    i love the dansko shoe collection that you have! i am thinking about purchasing a pair after reading/hearing so much good things about them!

    Like

  11. Diana says:

    The best you have looked. Love the shape and the colour.

    Like

Comments are closed.