Daily Outfit: Keeping Cool

Florida continues to be hot, hot, hot, so it’s a daily challenge to find new ways to be stylish.  Layering options are a bit more limited since too many layers get very uncomfortable, but it is definitely still possible to layer in the heat.  The key is to make sure that 1) your fabrics are light and thin, and 2) your fabrics are primarily cotton, linen or modal.  Rayon seems to deal well with the heat too.  I hate polyester anyway,  but it’s to be especially avoided during the summer, since it doesn’t breathe well.

full shot

I think this outfit handled summer layers perfectly.  Everything is almost 100%  cotton. The tank is light and comfortable, and looks just polished enough for a summer weekend with the button down layered over it.  The length of the shorts also keeps things polished.  With comfy sandals and the right accessories, this outfit is ready to go.

3784170677_7bdea7a9b5

Because the tank is a really pale green color, I felt it would be accented well with navy accessories.  For me, balancing colors is one of the most important elements in planning an outfit.  In the case, I had a pale, de-saturated color in the tank, a light neutral with the button down and a dark, warm neutral with the shorts.  By adding a vibrant navy bag and some navy pearls, everything balanced out.

necklace

I’ve had that pearl necklace since high school.  It’s actually a choker, but here I’m wearing it with an extender to make it longer.  This works okay, except that the extender part often comes to the front and looks weird.  Yesterday, I finally decided to remedy this by ordering a custom necklace from Pixisette that will have similar pearls, but gunmetals fixings attaching them and be 18 inches instead of choker length.  You’ll see it before too long.

3784170683_845c821328

Tank: Express
Blouse: Ann Taylor LOFT
Shorts: Ann Taylor LOFT
Sandals: Born Savory
Purse: Thrifted and re-conned
Earrings: June Designs
Necklace: ??
Bangles: Jill Popowich

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily Outfit: Keeping Cool

  1. Clare says:

    Awesome fun bag! And I’m loving your close-up shots! It’s great to see your smile!!!

    Like

  2. Sal says:

    Staying stylish when it’s sweltering is TOUGH – I’m super impressed with your chic and varied looks.

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    Those colors are so fantastic together! You have such a great eye for coordinating without being matchy-matchy. I agree with Sal– I have a hard time dressing stylishly even in the spotty Wisconsin summer weather– I’m way impressed with how well you dress for summer heat!

    Like

  4. Bianca says:

    Pretty! And u know I love those shorts! 🙂

    Like

  5. Sher says:

    I’m going to savor the last of the hot weather. I fear summer will be over soon. Even on a hot day you look refreshing!

    Like

  6. puglyfeet says:

    I’m looking for brown shorts just like those! I wonder if our local Ann Taylor will have them…

    Like

  7. Kristin says:

    Aren’t bermudas fabulously comfortable! Loving the orange polish!

    Like

  8. Krystal Bick says:

    I’m digging the color of your tank. Looks minty to me. Mmmm…mint! I agree though, staying cool and chic for hot summer days can be tough but you do it well, lady!

    Like

  9. JenX says:

    hi! I love that you look so cute and happy in your photos! I ❤ your sandals.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Year in Review: July, August, September « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.