Shopping Ban: Weeks 1 & 2

3843792928_f9397aa9e2

(Note: I technically considered my shopping ban to have started August 9, hence this being weeks 1 & 2)

If you remember, last Saturday I mentioned that I have decided to undertake a shopping ban. This is mostly because 1) I’m not making a ton of money right now, but have a lot of student loans ($20,000) and 2) I really need to reign in how much money I spend on clothes.  I’m allowing myself $15 a week to spend in thrift shops, vintage stores or on Etsy or Ebay.  (Gift money doesn’t count in this, thus, I bought stuff at Ann Taylor LOFT last Sunday with graduation money without breaking the ban).  For the first two weeks, I ended up not spending my alloted money.  I’d like to say that this was because of my amazing self control, but actually it’s because I just didn’t have time to shop.  Now that I have $30 in shopping ban allowance saved up, I’m hoping to get something on Etsy next week.

But, I actually did still buy something last week (see pic above).  If you remember, I was trying to decide last week if I would allow myself to buy shoes, and if I did, what limits I would place.  I since decided that I am allowed to buy only three pairs of shoes between now and December: black knee-high boots, brown dress shoes and ballet flats.  I’m not allowed to spend more than $100 on each pair.  This past week, I found a pair of Dansko Risa boots on Ebay and managed to snag them for only $80.  They sell on Zappos for $225.  I won’t be able to wear them until October at the earliest, but now when the cold temps hit, my feet and legs won’t freeze.

Some may feel that this is giving myself too much freedom, but only buying three pairs of shoes in five months is really cutting back for me.  Normally I end up buying three pairs every month.  Stay tuned to see what I get from Etsy next week!

(By the way, does anyone know how to get the smell of cigarettes out of leather?  It turns out that the boots came from a smoking household)

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shopping Ban: Weeks 1 & 2

  1. Clare says:

    Those are wonderful!! I’ve been looking for a nice pair of black boots, too…I may have to dip into Dansko territory once my finances are above water…

    Like

  2. Sher says:

    Personally I need to go on a shopping ban also. But I want to buy a pair of oxfords for fall, then I’ll lock up the wallet.

    Those are a great buy and can be justified! And you need them for fall 🙂

    Like

  3. missamyshops says:

    I think buying only 3 pair of shoes in 5 months would be a major accomplishment for me, so kudos – I think it’s rather restrictive. Which, I guess is the point of the exercise LOL.

    Also, you might try putting them in the freezer overnight or so. I’ve heard that the cold kills the bacteria and the bacteria is what causes them to smell. I’ve tried with my super stinky Birkenstocks & it seemed to help. Make sure to protect them with plastic or maybe wrap them in fabric first though.

    XOXO, MissAmy

    Like

  4. Bianca says:

    For the scent: If you have one of those handheld or stand up steamers, put a t-shirt over the nozzle, and then steam it out. It works better on leather, and I am not sure if your boots are leather or a really great synthetic. Steam kills most smells I find.

    Good choices and good luck with the scent~!!

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    Put them in a ziplock freezer bag and store them in the freezer for several weeks. I bought a pair of Frye boots on Ebay that had the same issue, and this is the only thing that worked – I also tried deactiviated charcoal and baking soda, which didn’t seem to do much at all. Good luck!

    Like

  6. Nadine says:

    The boots are really nice!

    Like

  7. nurmisur says:

    I understand your shopping ban and I’m in kind of one myself.But I think your boots were a great buy and three pairs of shoes in that period of time are not that much. Just keep to the three 🙂

    Like

  8. Struggler says:

    Really interested in your shopping ban, especially because you’ve given yourself a small allowance. I imagine it will be great to focus your mind and make you think hard about needs vs wants, without having to do without completely.

    I doubt I buy more than 3 pairs of shoes in a 5-month period, mainly because I am never sure the shoes I like will be comfortable.

    Like

  9. Jodi aka parrotheadchic on Ravelry says:

    I would try the freezer method then -kitty litter in panyhose for the smell.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Shoe Lust: Jeffrey Campbell Jewel 2 Flat « Simple Elegance

Comments are closed.