Shopping Ban: Week 3

Fluid Movement

Fluid Movement Top in Dark Gray  $58

I still didn’t spend any of my thrifting/Etsy/vintage allowance this week, so I’ll be saving it up and hopefully get some awesomeness on Etsy.  There will probably be a post soon debating what I should get.

Per my shopping ban rules, I am allowed one $50 free day per month, which I can spend wherever I please.  I am also allowed to spend gift money on whatever I please, since it isn’t a part of my budget.  Today, I took my free day for August and went to Anthropologie with Alechia.  And I realized that it’s very hard to find something for under $50 at Anthro.  Since I got some money for my graduation, I could go a little bit above that amount, but I exercised some restraint.

Eventually, I narrowed my choices down to this plum v-neck tank, this wine v-neck blouse, this amazing navy cardi/blazer and the above blouse.  I really, really loved this wool bolero, but it was way out of my price range.  I ended up deciding on the Fluid Movement top in charcoal grey for several reasons.  It looks amazing on me.  It’s in a color that I don’t have a lot of, but would like to have more of.  It’s a solid.  And the main reason: it has a neckline that is very different from many of my other blouses.  I have a lot of v-necks, and while I loved both v-neck blouses, I wanted something different.  The cardi/blazer was amazing as well, so I’m going to wait and see if it goes on sale.

You may notice that the price of this blouse was over $50.  I used $8 of my graduation money to cover the rest, so it’s not cheating.

I felt like I really exercised a lot of restraint while at Anthro.  I would normally have spend $200+ and bought all of the items I loved, but instead I spent some time thinking carefully about what I really needed.  I like the way this shopping ban is making me think.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shopping Ban: Week 3

  1. Kristen says:

    Please leave your address here so I can come to your home and steal that blouse. Many thanks!

    ;-D

    Like

  2. Clare says:

    Yay, congrats on the restraint! And I adore that blouse…can’t wait to see how you style it!

    Like

  3. Bianca says:

    What a beautiful blouse! What a great choice. Gray is a perfect color for tops -you can wear literally ANY color with gray! All of the detail on this makes it really special as well~! and a perfect neckline to display one of your ETSY finds! Those delicate pendants will be right on display up front!

    Good job in showing restraint. So admirable! 🙂

    Like

  4. puglyfeet says:

    I really like your new Anthro top. The dark gray, ruffle details around the collar and the round buttons totally appeal to me. Can’t wait to see it on you.

    Like

  5. Eyeliah says:

    oh that is so gorgeous, I wish I could go to/afford that store!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Shopping Ban: Week 13 « Simple Elegance

Comments are closed.