Shopping Ban: Week 6

scarf

Magenta Vintage Vera Silk Scarf  = $8 at local antique shop

(it’s much more vibrant than the image lets on)

Well, one thing I’ve learned is that it’s a lot easier to stick to a shopping ban when you are broke.  When my bank account is extremely low, I don’t really feel any temptation to shop and over-spend.  Rather, I feel more like staying home and working with what I already have – fixing items that need alteration, working on sewing projects, etc.

However, I have noticed that when I am out and about and need to kill time before an appointment, I will usually go into a store and browse.  Sometimes this will get me into trouble with impulse buys.  This week it wasn’t too bad though.

I decided to kill some time this week by browsing in a local antique shop.  I find these particularly fun to browse, because while I love looking at antiques, I will rarely buy anything.  I checked out the jewelry section first, but most of it was way out of my price range (including a gorgeous $39 jade necklace).  Then I proceded to look at the rest of the shop.  I figured I wouldn’t get anything, but then I had to stop and check out the 50% off section, because a beautiful burst of magenta caught my eye.  That magenta happened to be a gorgeous silk Vera scarf, on sale for a mere $8.  While money was quite tight this week, I could handle $8.  I’ve been wanting to add a greater variety of colors to my wardrobe, and magenta is one I particularly like.  The size and shape of the scarf are perfect too.  It’s versatile enough to be worn as a headband, around the neck or on a purse.  I also really love the fact that it’s a solid color, because most of my scarves are patterned.

This was all I bought this week, and I had $11.50 to spend.  This means that $3.50 will carry over to next week.  Woo-hoo!

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shopping Ban: Week 6

  1. Sher says:

    Still using restraint and not that charge card is a GOOD thing 🙂

    Like

  2. Winnie says:

    How pretty are these colours together?

    Like

  3. Elaine says:

    Great scarf! It really is a pretty color! Good luck with your shopping ban…. 😉

    Like

  4. Clare says:

    That is a BEAUTIFUL color, and it looks divine next to the teal blouse you’re wearing! I’d say that’s an $8 well-spent!

    Like

  5. Frank&Rémy says:

    Looking great, love the color! Must say thats an well spent 8$

    Like

  6. Kimberly says:

    Wow, I’ve never seen a solid Vera scarf before. The color is gorgeous!! I bought a pretty white scarf with red poppies on it by Vera yesterday. It was on sale at a consignment shop for $3 – SCORE!!

    Like

  7. Zoe says:

    What an awesome way to organize your bracelets!! Did you make that out of the soda bottle?? I know what I’ll be making this afternoon….

    Like

Comments are closed.