Shopping Ban: Week 12

Would you believe that since starting this shopping ban 12 weeks ago, this was the first time that I made it to a thrift store?  Clearly I need to go thrifting more often, because there were some great finds.  I had $7 of free money and $30 of ban money to spend, and I think it went well.  I went shopping at Second Image with Alechia last Saturday.  I admit that thrifting the Saturday before Halloween isn’t necessarily the best idea, but it was worth it.  Here’s what I got.

4056403143_6f97a7e5b4

Ann Taylor LOFT Blouse  $4

This was probably my favorite find of the day.  A beautiful, modern black and white print, a slim fit, a nice neckline.  The only part I’m not crazy about are the cap sleeves, but even those aren’t that bad.  And it’s a cotton/modal blend, which makes it really soft.  This will be receiving heavy rotation.

4056403151_5981be18e0

Target Navy Striped Cardigan  $4

I really like this cardi a lot.  I love the sweet, nautical look of it.  And it’s 100% cotton.

4056403157_7074de913b

Ann Taylor Factory Silk Skirt  $3

Nylon Slip  $3

I love how this skirt fits.  It’s technically a petite, but I like it when skirt lengths hit above my knee, so it’s just fine for me.  I’ve also been desperately hunting for a non-polyester slip, and I found a nice nylon one at the thrift store.  That may seem to have a slight ick factor to some, but once it’s washed, it doesn’t really bother me.

4056403161_c6195b6ee7

4056403165_15be5a933d

Target Hooded Henley  $6

I still can’t decide on this one.  I think it’s super cute and super flattering, and would be oh-so-fun to wear on casual winter weekends.  But as you may know, I have issues with polyester, and I forgot to read the fabric content on this one while I was in the store.  It’s 40% poly, 60% cotton.  I’ll give it a shot and see if I can get over my fiber snobbery.  Otherwise, I might try knitting something similar, but it probably wouldn’t be ready til next winter.  Maybe a variation of Knitty’s Henley.

4056403167_d80fd0f51b

Storm Navy V-Neck  $4

This is another one I can’t decide on.  It also has a high polyester content.  I love the neckline and the sequins, and the fit is very flattering.  But now I’m not so sure that all-over navy really suits me.

So that was a total of $24, and I had $38 to spend.  So I’ve got a total of $14 left over.  I think I’m starting to get the hang of budgeting!

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shopping Ban: Week 12

  1. Clare says:

    That navy v-neck is absolutely gorg. KEEP IT. Oh, and I totally have that same Target nautical-esque cardigan. Only I didn’t spend $4 on it. Fail. 😦

    Like

  2. Pingback: Shopping Ban: Week 12 « Simple Elegance - Pasarici.NET Blog

  3. Denise says:

    Great finds! Everything is very flattering and looks good on you. I used to be a fabric snob too but those poly/cotton blends keep their shape better and pill up less with age. I love them, especially for layering.

    Like

  4. Jenna says:

    Cute finds. Try them all and see if they work!!! Don’t give up yet!

    Like

  5. Kristen says:

    So funny the striped hoodie is the piece you are most hesitant about; it was my hands-down favorite on you. So cute!

    Like

  6. ShopKim says:

    Love the cardi and the henley!

    Like

  7. Pingback: “They stretched their wings” « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.