Daily Outfit: In the Navy?

4061903446_cde59cdb44

I’ll be completely honest in saying that this outfit didn’t exactly wow me.  I like the magenta and navy color combo, but I’m just not sure about how the whole outfit came together.  Maybe it would have looked better with a magenta skinny belt?  Or with a skirt instead of grey pants? (Which are looking much better since I got the legs tapered a bit).  Or maybe it was just that the fact that the blouse is a poly-cotton blend was staying in my subconscious all day.  And while I love this purse (thanks Mary!) I’m not sure that it works with this outfit.  How would you re-style this outfit?  Or do you think it’s just fine like this?

4056403167_d80fd0f51b

Blouse: Storm (thrifted)
Pants: Banana Republic (altered)
Shoes: Clarks Apple Sky
Scarf: Vintage
Purse: Won from Undergrad Fab
Earrings: Efy Tal

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily Outfit: In the Navy?

  1. Sally says:

    I do like it as-is, but think a skirt would’ve looked even cuter. Especially if it had brought another color into the mix!

    Like

  2. Kyla says:

    I actually like this quite a bit. The scarf is the perfect touch! I think you may be on to something with the belt. Maybe tuck the shirt in and add that belt? Either way, I think you look great!

    Like

  3. gail says:

    i think i would try it with a skirt next time. i like the blue with the red scarf. i think you’re too hard on yourself. your outfits are wonderful!

    Like

  4. Kendra says:

    I think what is off about it for me is the scarf and the embellished neckline together. I think it’s too much… I think it would have been much more flattering without the scarf, and with a necklace with a pretty pendant instead. And then maybe a pretty bracelet to carry the sparkles further down as well. I also think going with magenta shoes would have had the added pop you were looking for. It really is a gorgeous top though!

    Like

  5. Alli says:

    My vote would be to swap the pants for an A-line skirt. Maybe even something a little floaty to match the scarf and in a color that would maybe bring in another color from the purse. Either brown, cream or black. However, I think it looks cute “as is” too! I especially love the scarf with that top.

    Like

  6. Deborah-lee says:

    I loved this outfit as soon as I saw it. I think the scarf and top work really well together and give enough colour to the neutral grey.

    Perhaps the handbag doesn’t suit it as well because it seems summery and your outfit seems more like an autumn/fall outfit. Though in saying that I think it’s a very very cute handbag, and I’m hopeless at even matching my handbags to my outfits (I just use the same black one most of the time even if I’m wearing black or summery clothes!!) so I’m not really anyone to judge handbags! 🙂

    Like

  7. Mary says:

    I really do love the navy & magenta together, but if you’re not feeling it, then you know how to change it up next time! And of course, I love seeing that purse on your blog! It’s so exciting to see you using it!

    Like

  8. b. says:

    I think it’s adorable as-is, but I really love neutrals. Based on the other outfits you’ve posted here, though, I wonder if your taste leans more towards brighter colors? (And you look lovely in them, btw.) Do you think a bright skirt would have felt more “you”?

    Like

  9. Eyeliah says:

    This is the problem I always get with pants, I like the look (just like I like yours) but the pants tend to throw it off (for my personal outfits). I think everything looks better with a skirt, but that’s just not practical!

    Like

  10. Kristen says:

    I think I might have tried the skirt and a different purse, one a little dressier as it were. Maybe one of your Morelles? Also, I like the colors together but I think the scarf doesn’t give that gorgeous neckline on the sweater enough room to shine!

    Like

Comments are closed.