Daily Outfit: Social No-no's

Inspired by Kimberly’s Inspiration Calendar, I decided to try a color combo that I’ve never ventured into before: navy, black and brown.  I usually shy away from all-neutral combos, because I really love color.  But I still found this a fun experiment.

4078627009_6d7228d85e

The funny thing is, the entire day, I kept thinking about a character I performed in a play in high school.  She was Estelle, leader of the popular clique.  My main line was this: “Oh my God, did you see what Becky was wearing at the party last night? A brown belt and black shoes.  Ugh.  That is such a social no-no”.  This made me smile, since I was totally breaking that rule today.

4078627011_cfedcc1289

I think that this look might have worked better with a short black cardigan, but since my only black cardigan didn’t really work with this dress (because it’s a crew neck) I had to improvise.  I think it would have looked fantastic with a cropped black blazer as well.

4078627013_03d3162e09

Dress: Ella Moss
Shoes: Clarks Apple Sky
Shawl: Target
Belt: Thrifted
Headband: Anthropologie
Necklace: Kira Ferrer

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Outfit: Social No-no's

  1. Clare says:

    I really like this. You look so classy!

    Like

  2. ShopKim says:

    That dress is fabulous! I love the detail on the neckline. I like the take on the color combo too. Sometimes I laugh at myself too when I wear colors like this together too because it was something I would never have done 10 years ago.

    Like

  3. Cindee says:

    I think this turned out great! Love it with the shawl!! The shawl really gives it a special touch.

    Like

  4. katrina says:

    I really like this outfit, especially your dress. The diagonal stripes compensate for the lack of color. 🙂

    Like

  5. I’ve never done the neutral combo either and keep trying to think of something for tomorrow that pairs black, navy and brown togehter without looking like I got dressed in the dark and goofed! 🙂

    Like

  6. WaterGirl says:

    Love how you paired brown, black and navy together…bravo! Love the details of the dress too!

    Like

  7. sraikh says:

    I think its looks very stylish.
    And I need to try the belted shawl look again.

    Like

Comments are closed.