Daily Outfit: Dress, Fall v1.0

Over the summer and early fall, I challenged myself and wore this dress in six different ways.  Now that some actual fall weather has arrived, I am challenging myself again to create six new unique looks for fall and “winter” (as wintery as it may get here, which will be no colder than the 30’s or 40’s, if we’re that lucky).  Layering opens up so many new possibilities, and I’m itching to try them all out.

4099700898_fdcc5502ed

For today’s version, the weather was chilly, but not super cold.  For those not in Florida, chilly means mid-60’s.  I know those of you up north are groaning, but I’d take some snow over this any day.

4099700904_4a40956680

I went for a nice color combo of black, white and gray with accents in tan and purple.  This outfit is a bit more bohemian than what I’m used to, but I absolutely loved it.  I’m re-learning that quality (not price) matters more than quantity.  Wearing beautiful items that I absolutely love like those boots, the belt, the handknit scarf, makes me so happy.  So here’s my most essential style advice.  Buy less.  Buy better.  Buy things that make you swoon and wear them all the time.  Throw out anything that makes you cringe.  Replace it with something that makes you swoon.  Repeat until you smile every time you walk by your closet.

4099700910_966521702c

Dress (worn as skirt): Express
Long-sleeve tee: Issac Mizrahi for Target
Belt: Anthropologie
Tights: Target
Boots: Dansko Nena
Purse: Morelle City Bag
Scarf: Clapotis (handknit by me)
Necklace: Inherited from grandmother
Earrings: June Designs

 

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Daily Outfit: Dress, Fall v1.0

  1. Clare says:

    This outfit is stunning, Diana. I love that you accented the black and white dress with brown, and softened everything up with that gorgeous scarf and necklace. One of my favorites, for sure.

    Like

  2. ShopKim says:

    I love all the layers and details on this outfit. It came together perfectly! Love it. Can’t wait to see what other ways you style it!

    Like

  3. Cindee says:

    absolutely LOVE this outfit! gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous!!!

    Like

  4. Kendra says:

    Great advice! I need to do more of that… though I love to try trendy items, which I think is the only time buying more, cheaper makes sense because you don’t want to pay alot for something you may not like, or you may grow tired of quickly.

    Love the black and brown combo, and the belted waist looks great with the longer top. 🙂

    Like

  5. Kasmira says:

    This outfit is adorable and so flattering! I like the purple-gray of the scarf with the other neutrals.

    Like

  6. Sally says:

    SUCH a flattering ensemble, doll! The belt and that nice high hemline are fantastic on yas.

    Like

  7. alliedow says:

    beautiful! I love this outfit, seriously. I need some dansko boots, but since I’ll be sticking around FL for another semester….. impractical maybe? Nahhh never! I love the scarf, you are super talented.

    Like

  8. Denise says:

    I love the “boho” style on you!

    And yeah, as an Oregonian, mid 60’s is warm! No tights until it’s at least in the 50’s.

    Like

  9. Kyla says:

    Holy crap! I love everything about this! Great outfit and RIDONKULOUSLY flattering!

    Like

  10. Bianca says:

    This is really cute. I love all the gray out this season and combining it with black and brown is great!

    Like

  11. Pingback: “But my feet are tapping” « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.