"All that cold, cold wet day"

Lately there have been quite a few cold and rainy days here.  It presents an interesting challenge for me, as I’m still learning how to be stylish in chilly weather.  For this day, I figured that wrapping myself up in a cashmere blend cardigan and a pashmina scarf.  This scarf is fast becoming one of my everyday pieces.  I bought it in Chinatown when I went to New York City last year.  That was the day I first tried on the goldenrod Fluevog Malibrans.  I couldn’t bring myself to spend that much on a pair of shoes at the time, so I consoled myself by buying a scarf that I knew would match them when I bought them eventually.

I love wearing items that have stories attached to them.  It feels so much more meaningful that something bought at a big box store on an average weekend.  That’s why I love to buy clothes and accessories when on vacation.  Everytime I wear them, I can remember where I was and what I was doing when I bought them.  Or when it’s something handmade, I can think about the artist that created the item (or the time I spend making it, in the case of this cardigan).  I think that’s a good goal to set: cultivate a more meaningful wardrobe.

Tunic: Target (thrifted)
Cardigan: Minimalist (handknit by me)
Jeans: Express
Boots: Dansko Risa
Scarf: Bought in Chinatown
Bangle: Vintage
Earrings: Efy Tal
Sweater Pin: Nicolas and Felice

Quote: The Cat in the Hat Dr Seuss

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to "All that cold, cold wet day"

  1. Clare says:

    Wow, Diana. I truly love this outfit. It might be one of my favorites. The layering, the colors, that amazing sweater pin…it all just goes together so well. You would look FAB in a cold climate!

    Like

  2. Sally says:

    I’m loving your indoor shots, lady. And this is a dynamite color combo.

    Like

  3. Theressa says:

    I love the way that you mix colour. That scarf is the perfect finish to your outfit.

    Like

  4. gail says:

    love that scarf! looks so good on you =)

    Like

  5. ambika says:

    Well done on the cardi–it’s gorgeus. & love that yellow scarf.

    Like

  6. Kyla says:

    I love this cardigan so much and that last photo is so awesome!

    Like

  7. elena lu says:

    ooh yes i love scraves and the one i’ve been wearing a lot this season my mother in law made for me (she weaves)

    Like

  8. Struggler says:

    Really love your scarf . Nice point, too, about making things meaningful. Accessories are relatively easy to pick up when traveling – I could do more of that!

    Like

  9. Michelle says:

    The sweater pin is goooorgeous & I love the story about the scarf – so cute. The yellow and purple/maroon/mauveish color play off each other nicely, too.

    Like

  10. ShopKim says:

    You did an amazing job on that cardigan .. it’s gorgeous! I’m the same way about buying things on vacation. I love doing that and always knowing where and when I got it.

    Like

  11. Bianca says:

    I really love the colors in this outfit. Very pretty!!

    Like

  12. Kristen says:

    Love the whole layered look here, and that scarf color is divine. Just a splash of sunshine when you need it the most.

    Like

  13. Like you, I try to buy clothes when I am on vacation, and from smaller shops.
    Then, in days to come I remember the stories attached to them.
    Today I am wearing a top from J Jill that I bought in a mall in Rochester NY, while shopping with my step-mom and step-sister. My shoes came from Edinburgh and my daughter was with me (I bought her a pair of boots).
    Love that yellow scarf!!! It is so perfect for a dull and rainy day. Cheerful for everybody you meet.
    This is a wonderful blog.

    Like

Comments are closed.