"I woke up with a spectacularful idea"

I love it when items of clothing/accessories have good stories behind them.  This coat is like that.  Way back when my boyfriend and I were first dating, we stopped by a garage sale near his house and spotted this coat.  I couldn’t decide whether or not to buy it, so then he went and bought it for me.  Back then, the faux fur had a long, seventies shag look to it.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about the seventies aspect, and Florida rarely gets cold enough to wear a suede coat. But recently, I got the idea that if I trimmed the fur all around, it would look a bit more modern.  And so it does.  And now I can’t wait for more cold days so I can wear this coat and add more good memories to it.

This was one of those wet, cold days that requires cozy layering.  I’m still not crazy about this red henley fits me (it’s not so flattering to my gut), but with the sweater and the scarf, the unflattering bits are less noticeable.  Still, I feel like I really need to invest in some good winter layering pieces.  Maybe after my ban is over.

And did you notice the new hair?  It’s not a super big change, but I like it.  It’s a bit shorter and a more of a layered bob than what I had before.  Tribeca Hair Salon (where I get my hair cut)  is having a class on how to style your hair with a blow dryer soon.  I think I’ll go, because this cut can have some awesome volume when styled correctly.

Coat: Colebrook
Henley: ?? (thrifted)
Cardigan: Minimalist (handknit by me)
Jeans: Express
Boots: Dansko Nena
Scarf: Target
Shawl Pin: Nicolas and Felice

Quote: Clementine, Sara Pennypacker

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to "I woke up with a spectacularful idea"

  1. Clare says:

    Oh, cute! I love the new cut!!

    Like

  2. nurmisur says:

    I especially like the color combination.
    I have a coat like that back home and my problem always was the fur that was too big. You had a good idea and for me I think it worked.

    Like

  3. Sally says:

    What a fantastic idea to trim up the faux fur – the coat is fantastic!

    Like

  4. jenloveskev says:

    love the layering of the red shirt with the gray sweater!

    Like

  5. Struggler says:

    Very clever to trim the fur – you have a nice looking jacket now.
    I do like your hair and the blow-drying class sounds like a wonderful idea – a great skill to learn.

    Like

  6. katrina says:

    how awesome that he went back to buy it for you! that is soooo cool.

    i can’t believe you knit that sweater. it’s lovely, diana. great color, too.

    i love your haircut — so cute! the graduation in the back is perfect.

    Like

  7. Retro Chick says:

    I love that coat, it’s fantastic. What a great idea to trim the fur, I’d probably have been to scared in case I trashed it!

    Like

  8. gina says:

    omg, is it really cold enough for that coat in Florida?? It’s a great coat. Trimming it is a great idea. I recently trimmed some fur trim on a pair of boots. They were starting to look a bit worn and unkempt, but I really liked the boots, so I decided to take a chance of trimming them, and I’m very happy with the results.

    Like

  9. Pingback: “When the weather gets cold” « Smiles Go With Everything

  10. Pingback: “Sunny like yellow” « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.