"More regal like purple"

Sometimes I end up with an item of clothing where I love how it fits, but the color has grown dingy over time, or wasn’t a color that I like to begin with.  When this happens, and I’m feeling motivated, I’ll mix up a batch of Procion MX dye and give new life to my garments.  That’s what I decided to do with this cream cardigan, which you last saw here.  The cream was looking more and more dingy, and it was started to make me feel frumpy wearing it.  But I didn’t want to give up on it, so I dyed it purple, and now it’s like having a brand new cardigan.  I love how the white buttons contrast now.

I dyed a pink blouse with this batch too, which you’ll see before too long.  My preferred method of dyeing garments is in a top-loading washing machine, but I don’t have one in my house, so I just use a 5 gallon bucket, lots of hot water and lots of manual stirring.  It takes about an hour and a half, start to finish, but it ‘s worth the effort.  I almost always use more dye than what’s recommended, otherwise the colors don’t come out strong enough for my liking.

Blouse: Anthropologie
Cardigan: Ann Taylor LOFT (over-dyed)
Trousers: Express
Shoes: Clarks Apple Sky
Headband: Anthropologie
Earrings: June Designs
Necklace: Kira Ferrer
Purse: Morelle City Bag
Watch: Target

Quote: One by Kathryn Otoshi

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to "More regal like purple"

  1. Purple is my favorite color, so I highly applaud your choice to dye the cardi purple! The color combo here is fantastic!

    Like

  2. Kyla says:

    That’s a phenomenal dye job! And those pants are super flattering on you!

    Like

  3. Ann says:

    What a terrific idea! I definitely have a few cream and light colored cardigans that could use some rejuvination. I’m looking forward to seeing the pink blouse too!

    Like

  4. Denise says:

    Fabulous! You look great in that royal purple.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Like

  5. katrina says:

    amazing! that sweater looks as good as new. hmmm… i must try this, too. there a few items in my closet that can go through this kind of transformation. love the purple you chose, diana.

    Like

  6. Bianca says:

    Pretty colors! Also, you look good in pants! I know that sounds odd, but being someone who does not look good in pants, I am always a little jealous when I see someone in a great pair of pants >LOL!!

    Like

  7. Pingback: “Sunny like yellow” « Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.