Year In Review: January, February, March

I thought it would be fun to spend the last four days of the year looking back at what I wore and how my style has evolved.  I feel like I’ve really grown a lot this year, both in my sense of style and as a person.  I’m going to be looking back three months at a time.  This post will look at the first three months of the year.

January

A Touch of Green

Wow, a lot has changed.  This is my favorite outfit from January, because it’s one of my first experiments with color combinations and textures.  The hair looks awful here, but it was right before I got this hair cut.  At this point, I remember feeling a lot of frustration at the fact that I really didn’t like much of my winter wardrobe.  I think I’ve improved this a bit, but I still need to knit some pullovers.

February

Is Fluevog a Religion?

It was so easy to choose a favorite outfit for February, because it was so pivotal.  That was when I purchased my first pair of Fluevogs, my goldenrod Malibrans.  That was the most I had ever spent on one item of clothing/ accessory at the time ($150, on sale).  It was a real stretch in my color spectrum for me too.  I can’t begin to measure how much of an impact these shoes have had on my personal style.

March

Bolero: Take 2

March was the first month where I really began to experiment with layering.  I began reading Academichic around this time, and was inspired by those lovely ladies to try belting cardigans over dresses.  Layering has been a key element of my style ever since.

Stay tuned for the rest of the year in review!

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me, Outfits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Year In Review: January, February, March

  1. Retro Chick says:

    I love your March outfit. It makes me believe warmer weather is on it’s way!

    Like

  2. b. says:

    I’m a fan of your February outfit. Love the greys accented with the golden shoes and scarf, plus you look really happy and comfortable in your own skin–the truest definition of style, I think! Looking forward to seeing the other months.

    Like

  3. Sher says:

    February is my fave. I love a touch of yellow to brighten things up 🙂

    Like

  4. Karla says:

    I also love the February outfit. And, actually, every OTHER outfit I’ve seen those goldenrod Malibrans in… hmm, maybe I should look into diversifying my shoe collection some more, too. It’s been a great year to read your blog! Thanks for all the inspiration! Looking forward to all the smiles in 2010.

    Like

  5. Eyeliah says:

    Oh fun, that March look is so fab.

    Like

  6. katrina says:

    we met in february. it was you who got me hooked on fluevogs and it was your malibrans in golden rod that inspired my trip to the haight in search for them.

    Like

  7. academichic says:

    This is such a fun feature, love seeing your favorites and how your style has grown. Thanks for the shout-out too, it’s an honor! S.

    Like

  8. Kristen says:

    Love this idea of reviewing your ouftits. Love the way the March one drapes on you.

    Like

  9. Daniel Bax says:

    we met in march. it was you who got me absolutely dependent on fluevogs and it was your malibrans in wonderful rod that influenced my holiday to the haight in look for for them.

    Like

Comments are closed.