"Where the wild wind whirled"

It’s a new year, but I’m still working on wrapping up outfits from 2009.  After these are done, I’m going to try to keep my outfit posts a little closer to when I actually wear the outfit.  Also, thanks to your suggestions on my quick reader survey, I’m tweaking my posts a bit.  Monday through Friday, there will be an outfit post every morning.  Etsy Love will now be midday on Wednesday, right in the middle of the week.  I’m also going to start a Link Love post on Friday afternoons, that will showcase my favorite links of the week.  Saturdays will be ongoing blog projects, like Wardrobe Inventory, Shopping Ban, etc.  Sundays will rotate between Shoe Lust and other topical posts, such as book reviews.

I’m also working on taking pictures at more interesting locations.  I recently discovered that the top floor of a parking garage makes for an interesting location.  The views are fun and they’re usually devoid of people. The view from this first photo is kind of amusing to me, because you can actually see two of my former places of employment in the background.  I guess I’ve had quite a few jobs on campus.

That green sweater vest in the first image is a recent re-construction project.  A few weeks ago, I got a green lambswool sweater at a clothing swap.  But it had a problem -I have to wear a layer underneath it, otherwise it’s insanely itchy, but the sleeves were too snug to allow any layers underneath.  So I cut off the sleeves, sewed up the armholes and made the neck into a deeper V.  Voila!  New sweater vest for no money!  You’ll be seeing this a lot while Florida is “chilly”

I really wonder how I ever managed to not own heather grey tights before.  These have quickly become my favorite pair of tights, so much so that I’m thinking of buying an additional pair.

I’m wearing my mom’s ring again for a pop of color in this outfit, and I thought you might appreciate a close-up.

And this is nothing but a gratuitous cat picture with my baby, Elvis (who’s not really a baby, at 14 years old).  After losing Brownie a few months ago, it greatly saddened me to realize how few photos I had of me and her together.  I want to make sure that doesn’t happen with Elvis.

Dress: Ella Moss (My Mosh Posh)
Long Sleeve Tee: Issac Mizrahi for Target
Sweater Vest: Gap (re-conned)
Tights: Hue
Socks: Bella (Village Shoes)
Boots: Dansko Risa (Ebay)
Scarf: Spun and knit by me
Purse: Morelle City Bag
Earrings: Sara Westermark
Ring: from my mom

Quote: The Edge of the World, Shel Silverstein (from Where the Sidewalk Ends)

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Craftiness, Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to "Where the wild wind whirled"

  1. The black & white skirt is fab, and I like the parking lot location.
    But most of all, thanks for the comment about taking photos of self with cat. My 2 cats a very old and I don’t think I have any photos of me with them. Will do that.

    Like

  2. I love your self-made sweater vest, and that skirt is really cool! Your kitty is so cute! I applaud outfit posts with pets.

    Like

  3. Sally says:

    Love those stripes!

    Like

  4. Kim says:

    The ring is gorgeous! You’re very luck to have it. I love the picture with your cat too. It’s too cute. I agree that the photo location is a good one too!

    Like

  5. Kasmira says:

    Yay for kitty babies!

    Like

  6. Fabulous jacket and ring, darling!

    xoxox,
    CC

    Like

  7. that IS a cool photo location. out of curiosity, where do you go to school??
    (oh, and adorable cat!)

    Like

  8. WendyB says:

    The parking lot stripes complement the skirt stripes!

    Like

  9. Struggler says:

    It sounds like you have some great posting ideas coming up – and it was a real treat to meet Elvis!
    Love the ring; I’d like to add something like that to my accessories collection.

    Like

  10. alliedow says:

    That is a super great picture with your cat!! It is so happy and cute. Awesome ensemble too!

    Like

  11. eyeliah says:

    yes, this skirt is such a standout, I have a similar top I should wear it again soon….

    Like

  12. undergradfab says:

    Your kitty looks so much like mine! What a cute photo 🙂 That ring is gorgeous, by the way– what a great piece.

    Like

  13. Hi, Diana! My name is Diane. I found your blog through Wendy B’s blog.

    I love your style. Your idea of redoing that sweater was brilliant. And the kelly green paired with the black and white stripes is great.

    I look forward to future posts!

    Like

  14. Clare says:

    Gotta bundle up (btw, it’s about 10 degrees here!)! 🙂

    Love these colors on you, and Elvis is so pretty.

    Like

  15. Ralph says:

    Elvis is a great fashion-accessory. 🙂 And the striped skirt is super-cute.

    Like

  16. katrina says:

    i LOVE your outfit: the b/w geometric dress and the pop of green. i also love how you altered it into a vest — how clever is that!?! i wish i could do that. 🙂

    lookin’ forward to your daily outfit posts and friday link loves!

    Like

Comments are closed.