“But my feet are tapping”

I’m trying to catch up the last few outfits of 2009, so instead of a category-style post today (shopping ban, wardrobe inventory, etc), you get an outfit post!  Next week, I’ll be reflecting on my shopping ban, as well as discussing possibilities for the new year.

I really, really love cold weather layering.  I feel like so many stylistic possibilities open up for me when I can wear tights, boots, sweaters and scarves.  This winter has really given me opportunities to play with color too, and I love the results.  This outfit features my ever versatile Express floral patterned dress.  I had no idea when I bought it way back in June that I would find so many different ways to wear it.  I linked to the six different summer variations of this dress on this post.  So far, I’ve had one other fall/winter variation before today.  I think I see many more to come.

I’m also trying out some red lip gloss with this outfit.  Since I rarely wear lipstick, a full-on red lip feels a bit over-powering to me.  I like how this gloss adds a subtle dose of red without being too strong.

I usually like to have at least two different accent colors in my outfits, so here I used a pretty blue necklace peeking out from under my scarf.  I really love the way aqua and red look together.

And here you can see how I layered tights again.  I decided to go a bit more subtle with this combination, so I chose a solid red tight with red lace tights on top.

Long Sleeve: Issac Mizrahi for Target
Dress (as skirt): Express
Cardigan: Minimalist (handknit by me)
Solid Red Tights: Target
Red Lace Tights: Express
Boots: Dansko Risa (Ebay)
Scarf: Kohls
Necklace: Chocolate Cake Jewels
Purse: Morelle Oyster

Quote: Jazzmatazz!, By Stephanie Calmenson

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “But my feet are tapping”

  1. Ralph says:

    So many people bemoan winter because they believe, incorrectly, that it deprives us of the opportunity to dress fashionably. You’re proving them wrong. There certainly are “stylistic possibilities” in layering and this outfit is attractive in a complex way.

    The floral-print dress looks marvelous with the black cardigan and black boots. (I have a skirt from Spiegel with almost the same design and usually pair it with a black top, too.) The hints of color from the scarf and necklace are nice accents to the black/white theme. And your lipgloss echoes the colors of the scarf and tights.

    Great job!

    Like

  2. kateohkatie says:

    I love cold weather layering, too. I love my boots and scarves so much more than my sandals and lightweight tanks, when it really comes down to it.

    In fact, it’s only since autumn or so that I’ve really begun dressing mindfully, and I’m a bit worried about what the summer will be like! I don’t want to fall back into my old ruts…

    Like

  3. gina says:

    Love this combination! The red is bright and happy, as is the black and white print.

    Like

  4. Struggler says:

    You have a real talent for layering! Love these bright colors.

    Like

  5. Kyla says:

    LOOOOVE the tight layering and the color combo is delish!

    Like

  6. Orchid Grey says:

    I love winter layering too! so much more fun than dressing in the summer!

    Like

  7. Kristin says:

    Adorable pics D! I hit up the Orlando H&M a few weeks ago. I as kind of disappointed in the stock. Boo. I still wish they would build one in Tamp though!

    Like

  8. Bianca says:

    I dont mind the dressing. I jus t hate the cold. It makes me want to do nothing at all. I miss Florida alot right now. 😦

    Anyways, I love this outfit! FUn!! 🙂

    Like

  9. Kristen says:

    Great job with the colors and the tights layering again; I think I like this combo even better than the last, and I adored the last!

    The subtle addition of the blue stone necklace is a great touch.

    Like

  10. Linda says:

    Very figure flattering and eye catching!! Red is an amazing colour on you!! I will totally be “borrowing” this look sometime soon… although it’s -40F where I am so I’ll have to add a huge coat and ski pants for the trip to work!

    Like

  11. Nadine says:

    The tights are such a perfect contrast for the black & white skirt… lovely!

    Like

  12. ShopKim says:

    Love this! I like the lace tights on top and I think red and turquoise are always so pretty together. This outfit actually reminds me a lot of what I’m wearing today!

    Like

  13. Chelsea S. says:

    I love how the red of the tights and the burgundy of the scarf don’t match perfectly… adds more interest to the outfit! and your necklace is THE perfect final touch. lovely 🙂

    Like

  14. Audi says:

    What a great cold weather look — love that classic combo of black, white and red. The red lip gloss adds a bit of warm color without looking too contrasty for your skin tone; perfect daytime glam!

    Like

  15. alliedow says:

    I love these tights, that just add so much to your entire outfit. The whole thing just works together in this fun happy way. Love it!

    Like

Comments are closed.