"Sunny like yellow"

A few weeks ago, I showed you a once-cream colored cardigan that I over-dyed purple.  In that post I also mentioned that I dyed a pink blouse purple.  Well this is that blouse.  Not necessarily the most exciting outfit, but perfect for running errands on a chilly weekend.  (I was actually really cold in this picture, and I added a few more layers when I left the house.)

The fit on this purple blouse is really comfy.  It’s not so loose that it looks formless and sloppy, but it’s not too snug either.  I love how it looks with my bright yellow scarf.

I bought this red cotton coat just before I went to NYC a few years ago, and it continues to serve me well.  Despite the fact that I long for J Crew’s gorgeous wool coats, the fact is that I can generally get by in Florida with this cotton coat and my suede/faux fur coat.  But as soon as I get a chance to travel somewhere cold (i.e. when I have money and time), I plan on purchasing a lovely wool coat.

Coat: Target
Blouse: Liz Claiborne (Thrifted and dyed)
Jeans: Express
Boots: Dansko Nena (Ebay)
Scarf: Bought in Chinatown, NYC
Purse: Morelle Charlotte
Bracelet: Zad
Earrings: Efy Tal

Quote: One, by Kathryn Otoshi

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to "Sunny like yellow"

  1. LOVE the yellow! it looks equally great with the purple and the red…

    Like

  2. Sally says:

    Love those rich, vibrant colors.

    Like

  3. I’m really loving the color combination that you’ve got going on here! Wool coats are lovely, but I think I’d be willing to trade them for a warmer location…. The grass is always greener, no?

    Like

  4. Kyla says:

    I can’t believe that you got such an amazing color from a home dye job! You should totally do a DIY on it!

    Like

  5. Ralph says:

    You’re certainly mastered the art of fashion, buddy. By adding the yellow accent of the scarf, you transform a simple outfit into something noteworthy.

    Hope you get a wool coat someday.

    Like

  6. Kelly says:

    This color combo is great – I purple and yellow is always good but I wouldn’t have thought to add red! And I love the dye job on that scarf.

    Like

  7. Chelsea S. says:

    the purple blouse (go you for dying it!) and the yummy yellow scarf are just fabulous together!

    Like

  8. Theressa says:

    Very cute! You look so great in purple.. it really suits you! Yellow and purple are one of my favourite colour combinations.

    Like

  9. Sher says:

    You and I have the same target coat!

    Like

  10. Clare says:

    Diana, these colors are wonderful, especially with that fabulous coat!

    Like

  11. Kristin says:

    So cheery and bright. I love the look!

    Like

  12. Lady Smaggle says:

    The yellow and purple looks awesome. I’m so jealous of you being in Winter right now. Australia sucks in January….

    Like

  13. Anusha says:

    Wow, that’s a really good d.i.y. project! Great idea too. I love how the colors work together and your coats fits you perfectly. Well done!

    Like

Comments are closed.