“There was a perfect outfit for every minute of the day”

When ridiculously cold weather hits Florida, I go for lots and lots of layers.  Flexibility is key.  My house stays chilly at 64 degrees, outside it’s in the 40’s, and in my office the heater is keeping it in the 70s.  Having to be in so many temperatures throughout the day, I need an outfit that can transition so that I can stay comfortable.  This first photo is my outdoor version -a coat can do a surprising amount to keep you warm.  At times I wore a grey beret too, but I didn’t get a picture of it.

At home, I ditched the coat, but left on my cozy cashmere-blend hand-knit sweater.  A little bit of wool really can work wonders.

In my office, all I needed was the dress and scarf to be comfortable.  The tights and boots continue to keep my legs toasty, and I’ve also got a cami layered underneath the dress for extra warmth. ” But wait, when did you get this dress?” you may ask.  Way back during weeks 16 and 17 of my shopping ban, I mentioned that I scored a beautiful Boden dress for a mere $25 on Ebay.  This same style normally retails at $110.  I didn’t like the drop waist effect, so I got it professionally altered (which also raised the hem), and now it’s definitely one of my favorite dresses.  I might still need to get a little work done on the bodice, as it fits a bit loose.  But with a camisole layered underneath, I didn’t really notice the looseness.

It’s hard to capture the color exactly, but it’s somewhere between watermelon pink and red.  I like it a lot, and I’m finding that it’s very versatile.

Coat: Target
Cardigan: Minimalist (handknit by me)
Dress: Boden (Ebay)
Tights: Hue
Boots: Dansko Risa (Ebay)
Scarf: Target
Purse: Morelle Oyster
Earrings: Efy Tal

Quote: Sylvia Jean, Drama Queen by Lisa Campbell Ernst

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “There was a perfect outfit for every minute of the day”

  1. ShopKim says:

    Oh wow, I love that dress! It’s beautiful! I like how your layers are flexible in that the outfit looks great with or without them.

    Like

  2. Kyla says:

    I love that dress! The fit and the print are both perfect!

    Like

  3. Lesa says:

    Hey, you look like a sophisticated northerner. I went to my daughter’s soccer game last night in 2 sweat jackets and a blanket. It is in the 30’s here because we live so far west (1.5 miles to where housing stops and the Everglades begin).

    I think I have had enough….

    Like

  4. Shybiker says:

    There is such playful joy in your poses. It’s so nice to see someone this happy.

    Like

  5. Sally says:

    My gosh, the dress looks AMAZING altered!

    Like

  6. Sally says:

    Bah, hit publish too soon. I remember seeing this one in the catalog and fearing that drop waist. How smart to take it to the tailor and get it fixed to fit your gorgeous figure!

    Like

  7. Kelly says:

    That dress is so pretty!

    Like

  8. bluerose says:

    Very pretty dress. It reminds me a lot of Marimekko. And the 70’s.

    Like

  9. Struggler says:

    I recognized your Boden dress! (Shows what a Johnnie B. junkie I am.) Can’t believe you found it for that price on Ebay, that’s awesome.
    And I know what you mean about needing layers; lots of days here can be like that too, not helped by me never knowing what the office Air Con will be up to.

    Like

  10. Clare says:

    I love your strategic layering! The pattern on that dress is gorgeous!

    Like

  11. The dress is fantastic! I’m still pretty new to your blog, but it seems to suit your personality really well, too.

    Like

  12. Bianca says:

    I love everything about this outfit.

    LOL!

    Like

  13. gina says:

    Great dress! Love it as a skirt too under the sweater! I’ve been pouring over the boden catalog recently, but I’ve never owned anything from there.

    Like

  14. Kristen says:

    FABULOUS dress. FABULOUS.

    Like

  15. Efy Tal says:

    Hi Diana, I totally remember you! This is Efy Tal, you bought my earrings and posted on them in your blog!

    that is so exciting to see people talking about my jewelry on blogs!! It makes me feel that I’ve arrived! 🙂

    I work so hard on it, so it’s really nice to see that people are not only buying it but sharing it with each other.

    My website is all revamped, I’ve got really beautiful pictures on it on the homepage slideshow.

    I thought you and your readers might enjoy seeing the new direction I’m going in.

    http://www.efytal.com

    Let me know, and I wish you all the best, keep blogging!

    Efy

    Like

Comments are closed.