“The bracken shone like frosted silver”

We came so close.  So close to having snow last week.  The temps dipped all the way into the 20s, the coldest I can ever remember being in Florida.  But then we didn’t get any snow.  Northern Florida got a light dusting, and so did Orlando.  But all we got was rain and ice pellets.  Sigh.  (Did you know that there’s a Wikipedia page for Florida snow events?  I found this quite amusing.)

Those of you in the North who take outfit photos outside everyday in winter seriously deserve a medal.  I took these pictures as fast as I could, then hurried back inside to my warm, heated house.  I definitely loved the cold weather, but in a way I’m kind of glad that it’s starting to warm up again.  There’s only so many days in the 30s that a Florida girl can take.

I love how this cold snap has given me the opportunity to break out so many of my handknits.  I’m so proud of this scarf, because I spun the yarn on my drop spindle.  It’s super cozy and warm, and it’s long enough to wrap around my neck several times.  The way I tied it here is  something I’ve been trying ever since I saw this video.  I think it’s my new favorite way to tie scarves.

I’m also getting to wear my tweedy beret, which is special to me because I completed it on the first day of my trip to NYC, and wore it everyday while I was there.

Coat: Colebrook (garage sale)
Cardigan: DKNY (via Revolve)
Flannel shirt: Faded Glory (garage sale)
Long sleeve tee: Issac Mizrahi for Target
Jeans: Express
Boots: Dansko Risa (Ebay)
Scarf: spun and knit by me
Beret: Knit by me
Purse: Morelle city bag

Quote: The Velveteen Rabbit, by Margery Williams

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “The bracken shone like frosted silver”

  1. I am a big fan of that beret!

    I actually feel sorrier for my photographer than I do for myself. He is so kind to put up with my photo shoots in the wintry cold.

    Like

  2. Sher says:

    Berets look so good on you! I always need some sort of brim.

    Like

  3. kateohkatie says:

    So cute! I love your take on a more monochrome palette.

    And that beret is AMAZING. Isn’t it a good feeling to wear a handknit? 🙂

    Like

  4. Kelly says:

    Hee – I took photos in the snow a couple times last year but I did not want to deal with it at all this year. If it’s under 40, you get the inside of my house.

    Like

  5. Piper says:

    I just came across your blog and I have to say it’s cool and inspiring! Love the beret 🙂 And I can’t believe you almost had snow in florida, crazy! (we’re still waiting for all the snow we had here to melt…ugh!)

    Like

  6. Clare says:

    You would do great in cold weather climates, you always look so cozy and cute! I love that wonderful hat, too.

    Like

  7. Kristen says:

    Ahh, so that’s how you would look in the ‘real’ cold! 🙂 Very sweet, the knit cap and scarf are perfect.

    Like

  8. gina says:

    I love all the textures and shades of purple going on in this outfit!

    Like

  9. wulan says:

    u look fresh with purple colour..
    i always love ur pics.. 🙂

    http://wulanasihsetyarini.wordpress.com

    Like

Comments are closed.