“Down, down, to the frozen ground”

This outfit repeats a lot of the elements of yesterday’s outfit.  When it gets as cold as it was last week, and your winter wardrobe is limited, sometimes repeats just happen.  But I like how adding an aqua blouse into the color mix changes the whole look.

Weather this cold requires strategic layering, and in this outfit I experimented a little by layering my cashmere cardigan over a slim fitting hoodie.  I wasn’t sure if it would work, but I think the result came out quite well.  It kept me warm, and it was a nice mix of casual and dressy.

On my list of things I want to buy before next winter is definitely a pair of colorful leather gloves, lined in silk or cashmere.  These black faux leather gloves do the job of keeping my digits warm, but they’re so boring.

See that shimmery stuff by my feet?  That’s ice!  This weather has been so bizarre.  I’ve felt like I’m living in a wintery twilight zone.

Coat: Colebrook (garage sale)
Blouse: Anthropologie
Grey Hoodie: Express (via Classy Consignment)
Jeans: Express
Boots: Dansko Nena (Ebay)
Scarf: Spun and knit by me
Hat: Knit by me
Purse: Morelle Oyster
Earrings: Efy Tal
Gloves: ?

Quote: White Snow, Bright Snowby Alvin Tresselt

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to “Down, down, to the frozen ground”

  1. I’m still in love with that beret that you knitted, lady! If only I had the patience to be more adept with the knitting needles….

    Like

  2. Nadine says:

    Your coat looks so warm and cozy :)… great!

    Like

  3. Real Me says:

    Funny because we’re having 60 degree weather and I’m further north than you.

    Love the outfit! Have you ever knit gloves or mittens? There are tons of great patterns out there and you cold pick any color or colors you love.

    Like

  4. Lovely look and pics!
    That coat is such an amazing find!

    xoxox,
    CC

    Like

  5. ShopKim says:

    Looking good! Love the cardi of the hoodie too. I recently remembered I had a slim hoodie in my closet so I might have to give that a try.

    Like

  6. Kyla says:

    You look so cute in that hat and I love how eclectic and cool that coat is with everything!

    Like

  7. alliedow says:

    I love the beret and scarf combo a lot. You look very warm and cozy, and everything really works together well! Awesome.

    Like

  8. Piper says:

    I’m still loving the beret – so chic!! And the coat is great – even better that it was found at a garage sale – too cool!

    Like

  9. Retro Chick says:

    Those colours look lovely together.

    I so wish I could knit! I used to work at a wool shop and they tried to teach me, I just can’t seem to do it!

    Like

  10. Winnie says:

    Oooh you look lovely and cosy!

    Like

  11. Rachel says:

    Off topic, I realize but am wondering if you have ever done an etsy love post on leather handbags (or handbags in general). I have been reading your blog long enough to know you love Morelle but am wondering about other designers you have come across.

    Like

  12. Clare says:

    Look at you, all cozy and icy! Still loving that hat!

    Like

  13. Meg says:

    Cute hat! Hope you are keeping warm!

    Like

  14. Elyse, The Style Rider says:

    That scarf looks so amazing on you!

    check out my blog!
    http://www.thestylerider.blogspot.com

    Like

  15. katrina says:

    your outfit is great! warm, comfy and stylish!

    Like

  16. Rachel says:

    You look so cozy! 🙂

    Like

  17. Meg says:

    That hat is so stinkin’ cute! I want to steal it from you! And I have to say I am extremely impressed you knitted that yourself…

    Like

Comments are closed.