“No one will see how clumsy I am”

Last weekend, I was fighting off the beginning of a cold.  I wanted to stay in pajamas all day, but the fridge was pretty bare, so I had to make myself presentable to head out to the grocery store.  I didn’t blow-dry my hair this day, so it was kind of doing whatever it felt like.  I tied it up in a scarf and threw together a comfy outfit that would still let me feel chic.

The most important aspect of this outfit for me is my newly cropped skinny jeans.  I altered these jeans awhile back into long skinnies, but I found that I was often cuffing them, and that the silhouette wasn’t very flattering uncuffed.  I also found myself being more and more drawn to cropped ankle skinny jeans and trousers.  I decided it made more sense to alter what I already had than to go out and buy something new, and now I love these jeans so much more.  Hemming those few inches has made them so much more flattering on me.  I’ll be wearing them a lot more often now.

I didn’t realize until later that this ended up being an all neutral ensemble.  This is pretty unusual for me, because I usually love to have lots of color in my outfits.  I wonder if it was some sort of reflection on how I wasn’t exactly feeling up to par this day?

Blouse: Style & Co (clothing swap)
Cardigan: Ann Taylor LOFT
Jeans: Express (re-conned)
Shoes: Dansko Sally
Purse: Morelle Oyster
Necklace: Garage sale
Scarf (worn as headband): ??

Quote: Stellaluna by Janell Cannon

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “No one will see how clumsy I am”

  1. What cute shoes! I’ve been wanting a pair of clogs like those! And I love your hair tie, too!

    Like

  2. I am very impressed with the ankle skimming skinny jeans!. I bought a straight leg pair last summer that are actully a bit too long. I tried turning up the cuffs but I thought that made me look short. So my jeans may soon look more like your jeans…

    Like

  3. Real Me says:

    I really enjoyed the seven random things about you. You did such a great job on your jeans and even though your outfit is neutral I really like it! Love the scarf as a headband.

    Like

  4. Kim says:

    They look great on you! You’re very lucky that your skilled enough to do something like that yourself. They look great with the shoes too!

    Like

  5. Cute outfit, darling!
    Love your headband!

    xoxox,
    CC

    Like

  6. Piper says:

    how is it that you have a cold yet still manage to look so chic – very impressive!! great job on the jeans 🙂

    Like

  7. Eyeliah says:

    cute, I do not usually look good when I get groceries – lol~

    Like

  8. cute blog lady. xoxo
    alexandra

    Like

  9. Elyse, The Style Rider says:

    adorable headband!

    check out my blog!
    http://www.thestylerider.blogspot.com

    Like

  10. I am very impressed! I am never this stylish when I am not feeling well. Heck, I don’t look this put together on my days off!

    You look great!

    Like

  11. Chelsea S. says:

    LOVE the neutral outfit (I’m partial to them myself), and the scarf is so cute on you!

    Also, I have contemplated wearing my dansko mary janes with cropped skinny jeans, but never tried it. This post has convinced me to try it soon! So cute!

    Like

Comments are closed.