“Ready to kick up their heels”

I am continuing to adore this magenta cardigan I got for Christmas.  I’m discovering that drape cardigans are insanely versatile.  Last week, I wore it draped with a pair of skinny jeans and a blouse. For today’s outfit, I paired it with my little black dress and my goldenrod Malibrans.  Yellow and magenta was never a color combination I had given consideration before, but now I’m discovering just how great it is.

I love how the soft, light fabric of this cardigan ties up perfectly as a bolero.  I tried tying it back as a wrap sweater as well, but I didn’t like the effect, as it visually added bulk.  I love how tying it as a bolero adds a bit of waist cinching.

As you may know from previous posts, scoop neck of this dress is really low, and requires some layering underneath to be decent.  I originally tried a solid colored blouse for today’s look, but then I decided  that adding a bit of black and white pattern would complement the rest of the outfit best.

What color or pattern combination have you tried lately that surprised you?

Dress: American Rag Cie (via Revolve)
Blouse (under dress): Ann Taylor LOFT (thrifted)
Cardigan: Fossil
Tights: Target
Shoes: Fluevog Malibrans
Purse: Morelle Oyster
Pearls: Coryell Design

Quote: The Three Silly Billies, by Margie Palatini

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to “Ready to kick up their heels”

  1. I think the b&w print under your black dress is perfect.

    My unusual colour combination this winter has been dark turquoise and brown.

    Like

  2. Kacie says:

    I LOVE this! The b&w shirt underneath is just perfect. I didn’t realize it wasn’t part of your dress at first! And the magenta and yellow is fantastic. YAY!

    Like

  3. I do love this cardi of yours, and what a brilliant idea to pair it with an unexpected pop of mustard yellow! You know my stance on Vogs.

    I recently wore purple, turquoise, and brown, and I loved it. I’ll repeat the combo soon.

    Like

  4. Amy says:

    Wonderful outfit!! I love how you added the mustard shoes… they are the perfect touch and so cute!!

    P.S. I tagged an award for you over on my blog. If you get a chance, go check it out. 😀

    Like

  5. Suz says:

    Yes, yes, and yes! This color combination is fabulous. You look chic and funky all at once.

    I will admit that I am extremely jealous that you are wearing cute dresses and tights while I’m stuck in snow boots and hundreds of layers. 🙂

    Like

  6. evanadine says:

    i still love that color combo on you!

    in my very first outfit post (which was recent for me, since my blog is new!) i paired purple and orange in a way that i really liked — and didnt make me feel like a toddler dressed me. it is still one of my favorite outfits i have photographed so far:
    http://stumbleintostyle.blogspot.com/2010/01/very-first-outfit-post.html

    Like

  7. Becky says:

    Another gorgeous outfit! I am COVETING your shoes!

    Like

  8. Kristin says:

    Love the plum and mustard combo!

    Like

  9. MusingAround says:

    Those shoes are adorable! Have I ever told you how much I like your blog name. It reminds me of that song in the musical Annie, the one that goes something like- “Who cares what you’re wearing on Main Street or Saville Road. It’s what you wear from ear-to-ear and not from head-to-toe…” 🙂 ~Rose

    Like

  10. Real Me says:

    I love your cardigan. Great outfit.

    Like

  11. Eyeliah says:

    I wore purple and yellow yesterday too! 😉

    Like

  12. alliedow says:

    Oooooo those shoes just rock! Amazing and you know how I feel about that cardi as well, those two go together like peanut butter and jelly! Love it!

    Like

  13. Sally says:

    What a great ensemble! Those two fabulous brights are vibrant against the wash of black.

    Like

  14. jen says:

    Ooh, love those yellow shoes! I really need to get mine out of hiding. But they are stuck somewhere in the recesses of a moving box!

    Like

  15. Piper says:

    ooh, love those yellow shoes…how perfect with the magenta cardigan. so vibrant :)!!

    Like

  16. Kyla says:

    Love the pops of color and how that cardigan whittles out your tiny waist!

    Like

  17. The patterned top under the dress is perfect! That is a great cardigan too.

    Like

  18. Retro Chick says:

    I think that colour combination is great!

    I really need to be more adventurous with colour, I wear so much black, grey and navy.

    Like

  19. Audi says:

    Love those saturated brights with the black, and that little bit of pattern peeking out at the neckline is just perfect.

    Yesterday I wore burgundy, orange, and pink — and it worked! It’ll go up on the blog next week.

    Like

Comments are closed.