“She was easy to spot around town”

Back to my favorite new photo place again!  I’m trying to get down here for photos at least once a week.  It’s such a beautiful place to take pictures, and I find being here so relaxing.  I had to be careful today though, because those heels are a bit narrow, for me at least, and I had to tread lightly so as not to fall into the spring.

This outfit was all about one of my favorite color combinations: black, white and grey with pops of red.  I haven’t worn these beautiful Born Biddy boots enough to do them justice, so I wanted to base an outfit around them.  I love how they look with the black and white of the dress and tights.  I added the slim grey hoodie to provide a little extra warmth, as well as to balance out the black and white so that it wasn’t too harsh.  I chose a red scarf and purse to keep with the color combination, and then kept the jewelry simple with a solitary pair of silver hoop earrings.

Wearing a hoodie with a dress might be a bit too casual for some workplaces, but most everyone at my job wears jeans and t-shirts to work everyday, so it’s not really a problem.  I  have been giving some consideration as to how my work style will change once I finally get a job in my chosen career as a children’s librarian.  It will probably be a little less casual and a little more conservative.  I’m hoping that I will be able to let my personality shine though, while still looking appropriate for the environment.

Do you find yourself having to sacrifice elements of your personal style at your workplace?  Or are you able to mesh your personal style with the dress code (written or unwritten) that is expected of you at work?

Dress: Express
Hoodie: Express (via Classy Consignments)
Tights: Hue
Boots: Born Biddy
Scarf: Kohls
Purse: Morelle Truffle
Belt: from my mom
Earrings: Garage sale

Quote: Sylvia Jean, Drama Queen, by Lisa Campbell Ernst

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to “She was easy to spot around town”

  1. Ashley says:

    I LOVE this outfit! Everything about it.. it’s just perfect!

    Like

  2. Clare says:

    Diana, this is such a perfect color combo on you; I can see why you love it! It looks fantastic, and these pictures are so lovely. I definitely feel somewhat confined by my office environment. Part of what I do is student advising, and I feel that it’s important to look both accessible and authoritative. I try to keep it “me”, but there are definitely limits. I guess it just makes for a challenge!
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..The Things You Say Will Come out in Reverse =-.

    Like

  3. You look so lovely, Diana! The print of that dress is beautiful and so is the scenery.

    I definitely feel that there are tensions between dressing for myself and dressing for my colleagues and students.
    .-= La Historiadora de Moda´s last blog ..It’s time to make a change =-.

    Like

  4. The colors of your outfit pop against the beautiful background. Beautiful photos!

    Thankfully, I work in a very relaxed environment where pretty much anything goes, and dress conservatively to begin with for religious reasons. That said, I happen to work with a bunch of very stylish women, and that pushes me to dress up a bit for work. I rather like the peer pressure, or I’d wear a jean skirt every day!
    .-= alltumbledown´s last blog ..Testy, Testy =-.

    Like

  5. Em says:

    Love this!

    Like

  6. Sally says:

    You look marvelous, lady! And I’m glad those booties are getting some wear. They’re too cute for words, and are the star of this outfit, if you ask me.
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..How to Make Your Legs Look a Mile Long =-.

    Like

  7. Chelsea says:

    Oh I just love this ensemble! The gray hoodie does an excellent job of toning down the black/white/red combo, and those booties look AHMAZING on you!

    I can get away with super casual workwear when I don’t have any meetings or events, so I kind of have the best of both worlds now… get to get dolled up every once in awhile, and other times can be more casual. I would hope this would be the same dynamic in my future career (as a social worker maybe? still not sure), so we will see I guess 🙂
    .-= Chelsea´s last blog ..Outfit log: Gone Red for Women! =-.

    Like

  8. k says:

    i love those boots – the colour and style are awesome. i can be pretty casual at work, but i try to maintain a bit of effort so that i don’t sink into a style slump. although maybe i am just trying to do that in general!

    Like

  9. Kirafashion says:

    The best shot ever girl!!!
    I do love the rouge matching pieces, so beautiful!!

    Like

  10. Kristin says:

    I think that no matter how conservative your office is, you can always get away with a fabulous colored bag or shoes! Love the boots!
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Turquoise Treasures & A Couple of Fabulous Giveaways =-.

    Like

  11. tiffany says:

    I really love this outfit, you look great! You’re right the color combo works so well and you did such a nice job with the pops of red.

    Like

  12. Piper says:

    Those red boots are great! And you’re right, great location for pictures – provides a perfect backdrop.
    .-= Piper´s last blog ..{shake it up 2010 – week 6 scoop} =-.

    Like

  13. Alli says:

    Ooh, this is such a cute outfit! I usually try to “dress down” my dresses and I have a couple of cute little hoodies that I often wear with them. My university (I’m a student) is super casual so if I wear just a dress it is too fancy for just classes.
    I also struggle with balancing work/fashion or at least looking nice. I walk dogs as my job so I spend the whole day outside getting mucky but I also see lots of people and want to look at least presentable but it is hard because I don’t want to ruin my cute clothes. I usually try to find a balance or rotate my cute clothes into the work wardrobe as they begin to wear out.
    .-= Alli´s last blog ..Favorite Sweater: o w l s =-.

    Like

  14. Amy says:

    I love this new photo spot…it makes me want to find a spot of my own, but I don’t know if Boston has quaint places like this.

    Anyways, this outfit is adorable and I love how your bag, boots and scarf match each other so perfectly!

    xoxo
    .-= Amy´s last blog ..A Little Spring In My Step =-.

    Like

  15. MusingAround says:

    Very cute! This isn’t the first black/white + splash of color I’ve seen you do, right? It’s great!

    Like

  16. I love this look — the red goes so well with the neutrals and makes the outfit pop. You look gorgeous.

    Thank you for your sweet comment!

    Like

  17. eyeliah says:

    I like the shoes and purse how they almost match but not quite and yes! My personal style is always sacrificed for the office, I’d rather be dressing like I’m about to preform or attend a concert le sigh!
    .-= eyeliah´s last blog ..Sarah =-.

    Like

  18. Wow.. what an adorable dress! I love the print! I also love black, white and red. Such a cute photo location too.

    Like

  19. Those boots are fantastic! The look terrific with this outfit.
    .-= Kim, The Closet of Kim´s last blog ..Digging Out =-.

    Like

  20. I love the touches of red with this look. Very nice!
    .-= districtofchic´s last blog ..Apocalypse Snow =-.

    Like

  21. kumara says:

    very cute dress hey i like red color
    great stuff

    Like

  22. katrina says:

    my my my — this outfit is GORGEOUS from head to toe. this is definitely my new favorite. the colors jump out of the screen — beautiful.
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Colour Lover: Akira Isogawa =-.

    Like

  23. katrina says:

    another thing: i love born shoes and have a few pairs already. but, those are the cutest ones i’ve seen yet.
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Colour Lover: Akira Isogawa =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.