"Mature is fancy for acting grown up”

Last week, Style Symmetry was having a challenge to create an outfit inspired by one of the images from the Wardrobe Remix group on Flickr.  This particular day, I was looking for some inspiration for a new way to dress up jeans for work.  I came across this outfit by Elsa, and decided to break out my (only) button-down and mix it up.  It wasn’t cold enough to layer a long-sleeved sweater, so I went for a sweater vest instead.  I tried adding a belt like she did, but it was not flatttering at all on me.  I then added the pearls (under the collar) to imitate the lovely statement necklace she wore.

I like how professional this outfit is, and I think that looks like this could work really well once I finally get a full-time job as a librarian (it’s been six months since I finished my degree; someone hire me!).  However, the outfit didn’t really feel very “me”.  It felt to simple, basic and ordinary.  The bright colors and pattern of the vest helped, but it still didn’t feel quite right.  I think I might like it better with my denim pencil skirt.

The other thing that this outfit made me realize is that I’ve become spoiled from wearing so much jersey knit fabric.  The moment I put on something stiff and structured, my body recoils and begs to crawl into a comfy jersey dress and leggings.  And fabrics like this button-down wrinkle so horribly.  I refuse to wear polyester, so buying no-wrinkle sythetics is not an option for me.  I think that maybe I just need to search harder for a button-down that feels more me, and that perhaps is a bit more comfortable than this one.  Anthropologie has some gorgeous ones right now, and I’m hoping to get one (or two) with my birthday discount in the new few weeks.

Do you have a love-hate relationship with button-downs?  How do you dress the up to fit in with your style?

Blouse: Ann Taylor LOFT
Vest: Boden (via Ebay)
Jeans: Express
Boots: Dansko Nena
Pearls: garage sale

Quote: Fancy Nancy: Explorer Extraordinaire!, by Jane O’Connor

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to "Mature is fancy for acting grown up”

  1. girlxoxo says:

    I’m just now exploring my own style, but I do love a good button down – I have a long neck and they are pretty flattering on me. Lol – I think I sound so nerdish there – but alas, it’s true. I’m showing the button downs some love 🙂

    Like

  2. Clare says:

    I actually think this outfit seems very “you”, but I understand what you’re saying about fabrics. And I do think it would look AMAZING with your denim pencil skirt. Children’s librarian chic, for sure!
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..New State of Mind =-.

    Like

  3. I do love that vest! It’s so fun and colorful!

    I don’t love button-downs mainly because I despise ironing and they are so high maintenance. I only have three or four in my closet and they don’t make it into the rotation all that often.
    .-= La Historiadora de Moda´s last blog ..Weekend Wear: Peacock Bag =-.

    Like

  4. Franca says:

    I love this and especially the tank top. I think I have to check out Boden more! I also don’t like polyester shirts, but cotton ones are so much work. which is probably why i never wear shirts.
    .-= Franca´s last blog ..Is fashion oppressive or fun? Some belated reflections on Tanya Gold hating fashion =-.

    Like

  5. This looks great! That vest is very fun.

    As for button downs, I’ve worn them more this year than in past years but I only have a few. I would love to get a couple more but it’s hard to get a good fit.
    .-= Kim, The Closet of Kim´s last blog ..Do It Yourself =-.

    Like

  6. Lauren Cooke says:

    I really like the vest, and I actually think the button down looks smart. It may not be super comfy, but it is very pretty!
    .-= Lauren Cooke´s last blog ..Inspiration – Low Fashion =-.

    Like

  7. Amy says:

    I totally have a love/hate relationship with button downs…more hate than love though. My probably is that I never really know how to wear them and I always feel stuffy in them; but then I see others wear them and think, “love their button down.” Ahh I don’t know…

    Ok, so that vest… is ADORABLE!

    xoxo
    .-= Amy´s last blog ..A Little Spring In My Step =-.

    Like

  8. Em says:

    I love that vest!!! When you are sick of it….pass it my way!

    Like

  9. Kristen says:

    I love the vest – I think it fits your style well. I have the same issue with button downs. I’m busty, so they don’t fit that well, and the sleeves are often too short. But I also feel like a banker when I wear them, regardless of how “fun” the rest of my outfit is.

    Like

  10. Really cute look!

    xoxox,
    CC

    Like

  11. Kelly says:

    Honestly I am not a huge fan of button-downs. Most structured things don’t fit me off the rack, so my top half is almost always covered by some sort of stretchy knit. I did find a button-down that fits me well and I’ve worn it a few times, but I’m so not used to the restrictive feeling that comes with it!
    .-= Kelly´s last blog ..I walked as little as possible =-.

    Like

  12. k says:

    i know just what you mean about button downs – i have become spoiled by soft jersey and sweaters and they seem stiff and also cold in comparison. also they often don’t fit properly and gape across the chest. but i have been trying them a bit more recently, and until warmer weather hits a tank underneath seems to add a nice layer plus some comfort.
    .-= k´s last blog ..socks to make me swoon… =-.

    Like

  13. Sarah C says:

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this sweater vest. Great colors, so cute!

    thequeenofwanderlust.blogspot.com

    Like

  14. eyeliah says:

    thanks so much for entering and spreading the word! 😉

    Like

  15. Chelsea says:

    girl, I am WITH you on those button-downs. I only own one and I never wear it. Ever. It feels like a straight jacket! But… I just adore the sweater vest/button-up look! If you find some comfortable button-ups suitable for layering, please let me know!
    .-= Chelsea´s last blog ..Outfit log: Cozy in Cashmere =-.

    Like

  16. Teresa says:

    That polka dot vest makes me smile! Super bright, fun, and cheery!

    http://www.invasionista.com

    Like

Comments are closed.