“Your yarn is all loopy”

The weather has finally turned cold again in Florida, and I’m milking it for all it’s worth.  I know that pretty much everyone is ready for Spring, but right now I am loving winter.  Boots and tights and scarves and sweaters are so much fun, and I know that it’s only a short few month until the hot temps of summer will be here.

This outfit definitely kept me warm, but I must say that I wasn’t completely sold on the color scheme.  I would rather have worn a solid white blouse underneath, or even a pale blue one, but I didn’t have any that would work with this outfit.  I still think it looks good, but the tones are a bit warm overall for my liking.

One thing I am sold on is this method of tying a scarf.  Referred to by many as the Orchid Grey wrap, it essentially involves wrapping a scarf around  your neck once or twice, and then tucking the ends in.  It worked fabulously with this hand-spun, hand-knit merino scarf.  It was fantastically cozy.  If I ever do decide to open an Etsy shop, it would probably be to sell scarves like this.  That won’t be anytime soon though, as I have more than enough on my plate right now.

What’s your favorite winter accessory?  Do you love getting bundled up for winter, or are you more of a spring/summer type?

Blouse: Ann Taylor LOFT (thrifted)
Cardigan: J Crew (via Ebay)
Skirt: Ann Taylor LOFT (via Ebay)
Tights: Hue
Boots: Dansko Risa (via Ebay)
Scarf: Handspun and knit by me
Cuff Bracelet: second-hand

Quote: Woolbur, by Leslie Helakoski

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to “Your yarn is all loopy”

  1. Sally says:

    I ADORE this color mix! And the scarf is just lovely. It looks fantastically cozy.
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..Sexy in the Workplace =-.

    Like

  2. Nina says:

    I never thought yellow on a cardi could look so chic! You rocked it!
    .-= Nina´s last blog ..Valentine’s Day and the Happy 101 Award =-.

    Like

  3. WendyB says:

    Great color combo!

    Like

  4. The Real Me says:

    Love your outfit. The scarf looks super soft.

    I’m more of a fall/spring person. Too cold or too hot and I’m miserable.

    Like

  5. Struggler says:

    I love boots and tights too; but I really should invest in another pair of boots to give me more options. You look super chic and cozy! Very cuddly-able.

    Like

  6. Theressa says:

    I really love the colour combination. That scarf look so soft and cozy.
    .-= Theressa´s last blog ..Happy heart day! =-.

    Like

  7. Leah says:

    I love your yellow cardigan. Everything in this outfit is perfect… the purple scarf, the black&white top and the boots.

    Happy Monday! xoxo
    .-= Leah´s last blog ..I care… =-.

    Like

  8. Christy S says:

    I love your ensemble and I really do like the printed top. As for this weather – I am totally over it. I do not like wearing a coat and, truth be told, I have no winter chic. I do love my boots and tights, but I’m ready to put them away now. I’m not ready for hot, but I’m ready for warm enough to layer when the top layer is a cardigan. I even refused the entertain the notion of warm clothing when I was shopping at the thrift store yesterday (do you have a Lighthouse Ministries store in Tampa? We just got one in Brandon — love it!!)

    Like

  9. k says:

    i like the scarf and cardi colour combo – looks great. i think i’m kinda a shoulder-season girl, but it might be because of my love of layers plus my desire to wear cardis and scarves with sandals!
    .-= k´s last blog ..socks to make me swoon… =-.

    Like

  10. This outfit is perfection! The proportions are fantastic and the color combination is so great on you.

    I am sick, sick, sick of winter. I am tired of navigating snowy and icy walks and streets and being cold all the time.

    Like

  11. See now my first thought was that I loved the print on the shirt underneath! It holds its weight against the yellow cardi – I think it’s perfect. It never ceases to amaze me either how you come up with such great outfits with that color.

    I’m definitely a Fall/Spring person, with Summer next and Winter last. I haven’t minded Winter as much this year prior to two weeks ago, but now I am SO over it.
    .-= Kim, The Closet of Kim´s last blog ..No Presidents For Me =-.

    Like

  12. Clare says:

    Holy mustard awesomeness, I LOVE that cardi! I’m actually kind of a fall and winter person. I adore scarves and sweaters and layers. Summer’s great and all, but I feel like my creativity is at a peak when there are more pieces to work with.
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..This Is About Pretty Songs =-.

    Like

  13. alechia says:

    I won’t repeat all the wonderfulness which is your outfit- instead I will say- WOW to the pictures. These are fabulous pictures, I mean you look stunning in all of these.
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..Proofread More Languages =-.

    Like

  14. katrina says:

    i think this color palette works because your top is pretty neutral and so it goes well with your yellow cardi, which complements the color of your scarf. i like this outfit a lot.
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Flickr Fave: Hello Lolla =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.