"They're awfully old-fashioned"

Some people consider the circular shawl to be solely something that old-fashioned people wear to church.  I disagree with that view.  There is no reason why a circular shawl can’t be worn in a modern, stylish ensemble.  With this outfit, I aim to prove the nay-sayers wrong.

Here, I wore my circular shawl as a delightfully warm capelet.  It’s amazing just how warm and comforting lace weight merino/silk yarn can be.  I decided to keep the rest of my outfit very simple, because I wanted this shawl to shine.  I wore a simple black cashmere sweater and jeans, with pops of tan and a green bag to echo the color of the shawl.

I’m of the opinion of that if you knit something, and it turned out nicely, you should wear it.  So many knitters hide their knits away, afraid to take them out for fear that their hard work might be damaged.  But what good is it if you never wear it, if you never get to show it off?  I agree with Sally’s philosophy of “wear everything all the time“.

What items do you own that you are sometimes hesitant to wear?  What is holding you back?

(Look for a tutorial on how I wrapped my circle scarf later today!)

Coat: Colebrook
Sweater: J Crew (via Ebay)
Belt; Anthropologie
Jeans: Express
Boots: Dansko Nena (via Ebay)
Shawl: Pi Shawl handknit by me
Purse: Easy Spirit Outlet

Quote: If I Ran the Zoo, by Dr Seuss

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to "They're awfully old-fashioned"

  1. I love the shawl!

    I have a vintage pearl choker cameo (I wore it at my wedding and for Valentine’s Day) that I am hesitant to wear because it is heavy. It is so lovely, though, that I try to wear it at least once every two months. I’ve managed to wear it in December, January, and February so far this year, so I’m off to a good start with it.

    Like

  2. Franca says:

    I love it! How long did it take you to knit? great job anyway!

    Like

    • Diana says:

      It took me about a month and a half, give or take a few weeks. It was a lot of fun to knit, and definitely worth the investment of time.

      -Diana

      Like

  3. Piper says:

    I agree…you can always make something look good, it’s all in the way you put it together. I love the color of the shawl, it’s perfect against your black shirt (oh, and love the belt!!)

    Like

  4. Sadie says:

    That shawl is gorgeous! I’ve only made triangular shawls so far, but I wear those a lot – I get such a buzz from wearing something beautiful that I’ve made myself!
    .-= Sadie´s last blog ..Moebius! =-.

    Like

  5. Clare says:

    Okay, that is super-duper amazing. Wear it all the time! I love the color, the incredible craftsmanship, everything about it is fantastic!!
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..This Is About Pretty Songs =-.

    Like

  6. I think it looks wondeful! The color is great and the detail is amazing. You should definitely be proud of it! I don’t think I really have al tha much that I save besides a couple fancy dresses. I can’t imagine working them in tho.
    .-= The Ckoset of Kim, Kim´s last blog ..No Presidents For Me =-.

    Like

  7. Mary says:

    That shawl is beautiful! I’ve been thinking about knitting a circular shawl for a while, and yours turned out so nicely I think I’m going to have to go for it 🙂 I can’t wait to see how you wrapped it like that.
    .-= Mary´s last blog ..Pancake Day =-.

    Like

  8. k says:

    it’s a beautiful shawl, works well with the whole outfit. plus i love the bag!
    .-= k´s last blog ..yesterday, today, tomorrow? =-.

    Like

  9. Kate says:

    Beautiful Pi shawl! I’ve not knit a circular shawl YET, but one is definitely in my future 🙂 (I wear my triangular shawls a lot like that, too – mock capelet style).

    Like

  10. Lauren says:

    Gorgeous! I am so jealous that you can knit, especially when it ends up looking like that!
    .-= Lauren´s last blog ..German Men With Gold… =-.

    Like

  11. Linda says:

    I was initially distracted by the amazing shawl (beautiful work Diana!!) but then I saw you were also sporting some super flattering jeans!! Are they any particular style from Express as I’d love to try and order some online!! Thanks!!

    Like

  12. Preeti says:

    Your shawl is beautiful! I loved the way you styled it.

    Like

  13. Pingback: Smiles Go With Everything » “I enjoy them just the same”

Comments are closed.