“Wildflowers grow all by themselves”

Some people like to dress in head-to-toe black for the entirety of winter.  To me, that just feels too depressing.  I like lots of fun and happy colors in my outfits.  The only time I  ever wear head-to-toe black is at funerals.

I wore this outfit to my nephew’s’ 2nd birthday party.  I wanted to be comfortable and warm, since there would be lots of standing outside and kneeling down to play with toddlers.  The length of the dress and the leggings helped to preserve some modesty, while the boots, sweater, and scarf kept me nice and cozy.  I think I’m going to be wearing this scarf I just got at Anthropologie quite a bit.

I always get my nephews and niece books for their birthdays, because I feel that books have greater long-term worth to the children than toys, and most of them have plenty of toys anyhow.  I got my nephew Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type, and it was so cute, because when his mom gave him the gift to open and told him who it was from, he got confused and tried to give it to me.  I eventually had to open it for him and show him the book to explain to him that “No, this is actually for you”.  Too adorable.

Do you like to dress colorfully in the cold months, or do you prefer neutral ensembles?

Dress: Boden (via Ebay)
Sweater: Ralph Lauren (garage sale, re-conned)
Leggings: Target
Boots: Fluevog Heather (via Ebay)
Scarf: Anthropologie
Purse: Timbuk2

Quote: Fancy Nancy: Explorer Extraordinaire!, by Jane O’Connor

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to “Wildflowers grow all by themselves”

  1. Clare says:

    Ooh, I love your Timbuk2 bag. Mine has gotten me through many a year. And that Anthro scarf is divine! Beautiful color, beautiful shape, and you wear it so well.

    Also, I bought the Spanish version of Click Clack Moo for my host family’s youngest when I studied abroad…Clic Clac Moo (pretty close!). Such a fun kid’s book!
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..Don’t You Run So Fast =-.

    Like

  2. I love that scarf with this! Your nephew sounds adorable.

    Like

  3. EvaNadine says:

    i love giving books as childrens gifts! i dont know that one, but i think i need to have a look at it!

    i have a tendency to veer toward the darker colors in colder months, but i think i have been doing a decent job of being a little more conscious of keeping the color going. even today, despite wearing a black skirt, ive still got on greens, teals, and blues.
    and that anthro scarf is divine!

    Like

  4. Kristin says:

    Me want boots! So freaking cute!
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Plumage – Ask and Ye Shall Receive =-.

    Like

  5. I adore that scarf and great it looks wrapped up like that.

    As for winter colors, i definitely do both. I appreciate the chance to wear darker colors but too much of that is just too much. So I like to bring my bright colors in too.
    .-= The Ckoset of Kim, Kim´s last blog ..Keeping My Sunshine =-.

    Like

  6. Kate says:

    I love the colors in your outfit – they all play so nicely together!

    I try to throw in a bit of color during the cold months, but I think I look better in darker shades anyway so that’s what I typically wear.

    Also, Click Clack Moo is one of my favorite kids books 😀
    .-= Kate´s last blog ..Daily Outfit – Kate – 2/17/10 =-.

    Like

  7. katrina says:

    i’ve been dreaming of an all black wardrobe lately because it’s been difficult for me to wear my clothes. most of my clothes have patterns of various sorts and it has been a struggle to match with my other clothes with so many patterns. seeing your ensembles daily really inspire me to work with what i have and that it is possible to make it fun and chic at the same time without looking *artsy*.

    i love every single item that you’re wearing in this post from the pattern of your dress to the gray sweater that you chose to wear it with. i love black tights and your beautiful teal Fluevogs. the YELLOW Timbuktu is a perfect complement to it all! (you got me crazy on yello, girl!)

    another beautiful outfit by Diana — please keep them coming.
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Dumpling Dynasty =-.

    Like

  8. The Real Me says:

    Books are always the best gift!

    I love this outfit. You always look fabulous!

    I love color, but lately I’ve been in a darker mood and my clothes seem to reflect that. I’m hoping the fog lifts soon.
    .-= The Real Me´s last blog ..Can I Cry? =-.

    Like

  9. Sally says:

    That scarf is to die for! And I love how it injects a bit of pale blue into an already awesome color mix.
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..Accessory Organization on the Cheap =-.

    Like

  10. Kelly says:

    That scarf is SO pretty!
    .-= Kelly´s last blog ..against your better judgement =-.

    Like

  11. I’m just loving your scarf! I love the red and blue AND light blue in your outfit!
    .-= Elaine, clothedmuch´s last blog ..Diviine ModesTee Swimsuit Giveaway =-.

    Like

  12. Lyd says:

    I have to tell you – I think that you are my new style icon!:) You are so beautiful, and you have such a great taste!
    .-= Lyd´s last blog ..День Святого Валентина =-.

    Like

  13. Theressa says:

    Love that scarf. LOVE
    .-= Theressa´s last blog ..A little springtime… =-.

    Like

  14. Kristin says:

    I’m ALL about color…especially in the form of a beautiful scarf!

    Like

Comments are closed.