“Expect the joy that rainbows bring”

(Don’t forget to enter the knitted gloves and mittens giveaway!!)

Color plays a very important role in my personal style.  I always love to experiment with it and find new and interesting combinations.  But I’ve noticed that I usually won’t use more than two colors, and I rarely have three colors that are next to each other in the color wheel (Academchic would probably know what the proper term for that is).  For today’s outfit, I decided to push my boundaries a bit, and wear yellow, green and blue together.

I’m really quite happy with how they look together.  I think the fact the there’s only a little bit of green peeking out probably helps to make it look balanced and not over-whelming.  I though about wearing my red coat with this as well, but I decided that would make me feel a bit too much like a box of crayons.

Might I mention that I am completely in love with my new scarf?  It’s so warm, and the elastic ruching makes it so easy to casually wrap it around my neck.  It makes me feel like a French woman who just effortlessly throws a scarf around her neck and instantly looks chic.  Anthro still has it (in four colors)!

What are your favorite color combinations to wear?  Do you tend to stick to the same ones, or do you love to try out new mixes?


Dress: Ella Moss (via My Mosh Posh)
Cardigan: J Crew (via Ebay)
Long sleeve tee: American Eagle (thrifted)
Tights: Hue
Boots: Dankso Risa (via Ebay)
Scarf: Anthropologie
Ring: from my grandmother
Earrings: Efy Tal

Quote: The Happiness Tree: Celebrating the Gifts of Trees We Treasure, Andrea Alban Gosline

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to “Expect the joy that rainbows bring”

  1. Clare says:

    That is the most amazing scarf. And I love all the bright colors! Perfect for pre-Spring.
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..Messing with the Flavor =-.

    Like

  2. Franca says:

    This is so so good, just my kind of thing!

    Like

  3. Sher says:

    I’m in love with the yellow cardi 🙂
    .-= Sher´s last blog ..Feel the Earth Move Under My Feet =-.

    Like

  4. Kristin says:

    The colors are gorgeous, but you had me at the diagonal stripe! Love!

    I’m still working on the multiple color approach. I usually stick to a non-black neutral and a color. But, when I’m really feeling it, nothing makes me happier than a bright turquoise and a cheerful, citrusy orange!
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Plumage – The Bird on My Shirt =-.

    Like

  5. girlxoxo says:

    Love the colors! I’m usually a black on black girl – that would be my favorite. But despite the abundance of black 9and grey) in my wardrobe, I really love bright colors (all of them 🙂

    Like

  6. Rachel says:

    the stripes are glorious! a great combination, I think it seems just right.
    .-= Rachel´s last blog ..the bonnie formula…part one =-.

    Like

  7. Kelly says:

    I’m with you – I like playing with color combos but I usually stick to just one or two non-neutrals (at least right next to each other).
    .-= Kelly´s last blog ..Things I Hated in Magazines This Month =-.

    Like

  8. Piper says:

    This is one of my fave outfits you’ve worn!! I just LOVE the yellow cardi with the striped dress and blue scarf…you look amazing! You’re inspiring me to play with color more in my outfits!!
    .-= Piper´s last blog ..{fleabags} =-.

    Like

  9. Kristin says:

    You should be in love with that scarf. It’s just gorgeous. The whole look is so sunny and fun!

    Like

  10. LOOOVE this! I love the stripes. I love the yellow cardi. I Love that ruffle scarf!
    .-= Elaine, clothedmuch´s last blog ..Stripe the Florals =-.

    Like

  11. Vanessa says:

    I love this outfit– it just makes me smile with all the bright colors.

    Like

  12. Jadey says:

    I love the pops of color, perfect for spring! (I swear it’s almost here!)

    Like

  13. What a fun and interesting look! I love how you combined these bright colors with the stripes!

    Like

  14. Maskenlady says:

    Beautiful outfit, you look great. I love the colors!
    .-= Maskenlady´s last blog ..when you wake up in disneyland. =-.

    Like

  15. alechia says:

    Love the scarf!!!!
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..WP.com Downtime Summary =-.

    Like

  16. Pingback: Bloganista: Happy St. Patrick’s Day

  17. Chaucee says:

    This is a gorgeous scarf!

    Like

Comments are closed.