“That’s how librarians are”

(Don’t forget my knitted gloves and mittens giveaway!  It ends at midnight EST tonight)

I substituted at a media center in a high school this week, and on my first day, I was mistaken for a student twice.  On my second day, I decided to make sure that my outfit made it clear that I was an adult, not a student.  There’s nothing quite like a good dose of librarian chic when you actually are a librarian.

I decided to go for a sort of Joan Holloway look with this outfit, wearing my favorite pencil skirt.  I paired it with my new Anthro blouse, and then echoed the colors of the blouse in everything else.  A little yellow in the handbag, red in the shoes and necklace, white with the cardigan.  To me it seems intuitive, but one of the best ways to create a put-together outfit is to wear a beautiful pattern blouse with a skirt or trousers, and then echo the colors of the blouse in your accessories.  This works equally well with patterned dresses.

Because I was substituting all week, I’m quite behind on my blog reading and commenting.  So if I didn’t visit your blog this week, please know that it’s nothing against you.  I’m still trying to learn how to balance all the various aspects of life and work. Because I haven’t had time to read blogs this week, there won’t be a Link Love post this afternoon.

How do you balance life and work?  How do you make time to read other blogs?

Blouse: Anthropologie
Salmon Tank:  The Limited (via Revolve)
Cardigan: Ann Taylor LOFT
Skirt: Semantiks
Shoes: Tsubo Acrea (via http://www.ebay.com)
Purse: Vintage (via AdVintagous)
Necklace: ??, via clothing swap
Cuff: ??, via Classy Consignments

Quote: The Boy who was Raised by Librarians, by Carla Morris

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to “That’s how librarians are”

  1. Franca says:

    I can see why everyone is raving about Tsubos – they are lovely!

    Like

  2. Tracy says:

    I’m behind, too, which is why you didn’t get a happy birthday comment yesterday from me. Hope today is as good as yesterday!

    I have that same necklace – bought from Urban Outfitters a few years ago. Love it. That reminds me that I haven’t worn it in a while.

    Like

  3. Cecilia says:

    Love how that pencil skirt looks on you.
    I have to pay more atention to acessories, you make them look fun .
    .-= Cecilia´s last blog ..Lobster Fest =-.

    Like

  4. You look very chic!

    You won the giveaway we were having over at Fashionable Academics!

    Like

  5. alechia says:

    I love the shoes paired with that skirt. Awesome!
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..WP.com Downtime Summary =-.

    Like

  6. EvaNadine says:

    i use my blogging and blog reading/commenting as a break from work. i certainly cant spend lots of time all at once checking up on blogs, but when i need a little mental break from whatever im working on, i will pop over to a few blogs, visit, comment… then i feel refreshed.
    of course, not everyone has this luxury, but im glad i do!
    .-= EvaNadine´s last blog ..The First Post After the Prolonged Absence… =-.

    Like

  7. Sally says:

    Yay Acreas!
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..On Being Womanly =-.

    Like

  8. Kristin says:

    Solid formula for creating great outfits! You look lovely.

    I do a little blog perusing during breaks at work, although I’m trying to cut back at that a little. I really enjoy hunkering down with a beverage of some sort and reading through my Google Reader after I get home from work, or after dinner. Just an hour and a half or so. It’s so nice to read up on the optimistic, stylish peeps out there, I completely release some of the tension of the day.

    (Btw, I’ve been thinking about trying some Acreas for months now. I’m thinking I might just take the plunge soon!)
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Plumage – Wearin’ the Boots =-.

    Like

  9. Shybiker says:

    Truth be told, you do have a youthful appearance, so clothing makes a critical difference in how people perceive you. That’s an enviable position to be in.

    I balance work (which, for me, is very demanding and very stressful) with fashion-blogging by turning to the latter very early and very late in the day. Reading them is relaxing and therapeutic, a welcome antidote to the anxiety of work.

    Like

  10. Kelly says:

    The concept of finding a color in a pattern and then using that color in the rest of your outfit is really the way my mom first taught me to create outfits – so in my teens it took me a while to be comfortable with the fact that you don’t *always* have to have the same color in two garments.

    As for blog reading…honestly I read some at work. I do catch up on the weekends and at night when I’m in the mood. Sometimes if I open my reader and see more posts than I want to read, I’ll go through my least favorite blogs and “mark all as read” – it’s not the best strategy because I do miss things that way, but if I don’t open my reader for a few days I can have hundreds of things to read, and that’s just too much!
    .-= Kelly´s last blog ..Formspring? Sure why not. =-.

    Like

  11. The Real Me says:

    You look great. Very professional but still individualistic.

    I love your necklace.

    I only manage to balance the two worlds of work and internet because dh has realized I go nutty after a while if all I look at is these four walls and my kiddos…lol.

    Plus, some blogs I check once a week and other favorites daily.
    .-= The Real Me´s last blog ..We Had Snow!!!! =-.

    Like

  12. Chelsea says:

    this is a gorgeous ensemble! that skirt looks like it was just made for you… highlights your lovely shape so well!

    i struggle with keeping up with other blogs, and i feel badly about it! but there are so many that i follow and love, that there’s just not enough time to get them all of the attention they deserve. but i try to chime in every so often so they (including you!) feel the blog love 🙂
    .-= Chelsea´s last blog ..Outfit log: Mostly Vintage =-.

    Like

  13. Clare says:

    Can I just say how much I love that you want to be a librarian! It seems so perfect for you. And this outfit is awesome, too!
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..And You Haven’t Even Kissed Me Yet =-.

    Like

  14. Kristen says:

    I really love the lines of this outfit; it shows off your pretty curves without being overtly sexy. Very Joan Holloway, indeed!
    .-= Kristen´s last blog ..Thursday: Grover is the best. =-.

    Like

  15. You look great! I love the different colors accessories.

    Quite a timely question for me really since I just posted the same thing this week. I’m actually struggling with finding the balance right now and give everything the attention it deserves. It’s not easy and sometimes the balances sways but that is just how it’s got to be.
    .-= Kim, The Closet of Kim´s last blog ..Function and Form =-.

    Like

  16. Maria says:

    I’m a librarian, so I got a kick out of this post! I too am often confused for a student because I don’t look like many of my older coworkers (I’m the second-to-youngest employee there), so lately I, too, have been trying to dress more professional. Although my nametag helps more than a cute pencil skirt or classy shoes could, I think. 😉 I don’t read blogs while at work, but I do save them up until I have a free evening or weekend at home. It’s great to relax with a cup of tea and see what everyone’s been wearing, get some tips, etc., and not have to worry about anything else. I hate rushing through my blogroll, so I don’t mind that some posts are a week old, as long as I can savor them.

    Like

  17. Pingback: Smiles Go With Everything » “No sense of what was proper”

Comments are closed.