“You’re really quite lucky”

I’ve received so much support and encouragement from my readers since lamenting about my job situation on Monday, and I can’t thank you enough.  I feel so very lucky to be a part of such a wonderful, caring community.  My spirits have definitely improved.  You helped me to realize that there’s no point in dwelling on all the what if’s.  The right job will come along, and it will work out eventually.  I have to keep in perspective that this will probably be the hardest time for me in my career – which means that it can only get better from here.

Another antidote for blah days is wearing some of your favorite items.  For me, that means my favorite goldenrod Fluevog Malibrans, my oh-so-comfy Ella Moss dress, and a cozy handknit cardigan.  Wearing things that make you happy is a good way to get your spirits up.  In fact, I try to get rid of anything clothing that doesn’t make me happy when I wear it.  Life is just too short to wear boring or uncomfortable clothes.

This navy and white striped jersey dress really has become a staple for me.  I love how endlessly versatile a dress like this can be.  I’m curious to see how it will transition into spring and summer, though, since it generally requires layering to be decent.  I think if I get some lightweight slips and cardigans, it should work just fine.

What do you like to wear as a pick-me-up on days when you’re feeling a bit down?

Dress: Ella Moss (via My Mosh Posh)
Cardigan: Minimalist, handknit by me
Belt: Anthropologie
Tights: Hue
Shoes: John Fluevog Malibrans
Cuff: via Classy Consignments
Necklace: Kira Ferrer

Quote: Did I ever tell you how lucky you are? By Dr Seuss

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “You’re really quite lucky”

  1. Franca says:

    Oh, I missed that yesterday, sorry to hear that and best of luck! I spent six months after my undergrad working as a receptionist and job hunting unsuccessfully, and was beginning to think I’d never get anywhere! I went back to study though and it’s worked out, so I’m sure it will for you too! I find the best way to deal with these kinds of things is to just DO SOMETHING. That way, even if nothing immediately comes of it, you know you’ve done all you can. Good luck!
    .-= Franca´s last blog ..Outfit 1.3.10/day one of the capsule wardrobe challenge =-.

    Like

  2. Clare says:

    The Fluevogs with gray tights look so great! Totally lets the shoes shine.

    Oh, and think of the lessons you’ll get to teach your kids about surviving the tough times of the economy. “When I was your age, I had to walk uphill both ways in a blizzard just to apply for jobs. And I still didn’t get any!” 🙂
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..In Other Words =-.

    Like

  3. Kate says:

    I agree with you 100% on the “happy clothes” idea. I actually just got rid of a top for this very reason – the last time I wore it was when a day trip unexpectedly turned into a 3-day trip. By the end of the trip the top was filthy, I felt filthy, I was exhausted and crabby. And even though I’ve (of course!) washed the top since then, I always associate it with “filthy and miserable” – and who wants that?

    I love how you incorporate sharp colors with smoother ones in your outfit today – and it’s also interesting how in this outfit, the Malibrans actually tone down the vibrant stripes! So cool 🙂

    Like

  4. TracyAnn says:

    This outfit is so CUTE!! I have recently become a fan of the high waisted belt, and yours is great!

    Like

  5. TracyAnn says:

    oh, and the yellow shoes and gray tights–awesome! 🙂

    Like

  6. Lorena says:

    After the rain.. the sun will shine !
    Great shoes.. i have them in black… but yellow is gorgeous!

    Like

  7. Audi says:

    Sorry to hear about your job situation; I know how frustrating that can be. Something will turn up though, I just know it! Your positive attitude will certainly help, and really, how can you NOT have a positive attitude while wearing those adorable shoes?
    .-= Audi´s last blog ..Fake It =-.

    Like

  8. k says:

    love this (and your positive attitude)! and you’re just reconfirming for me that i desperately need yellow shoes for spring!
    .-= k´s last blog ..slow sewing… =-.

    Like

  9. Meg says:

    Ohhh! This I love! I like how you did the more somber, neutral colors with the thrown in pop of color. BAM! Yellow. Happiness for your feet :]
    .-= Meg´s last blog ..Wreath Fetish =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.